Undergraduate, postgraduate and research/PhD scholarships for studying in India

Monday, 12 January 2015 00:02 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The High Commission of India, Colombo has announced the offer for the following ICCR scholarships: Nehru Memorial Scholarship Scheme: Hundred (100) slots are being offered under this scheme which covers all undergraduate courses (except Medicine) including Engineering, Science, Business, Economics, Commerce, Humanities and Arts. Maulana Azad Scholarship Scheme: Fifty (50) scholarships for Master’s degrees courses including Engineering, Science, Economics, Commerce, Humanities and Arts. However, preference would be given to the fields of Engineering, Science and Agriculture. Medicine including indigenous Medicine courses is not included in this scheme. Rajiv Gandhi Scholarship Scheme: Twenty five (25) slots for undergraduate courses in the field of ‘Information Technology’ leading to a B.E or B.Tech degree. Commonwealth Scholarship Scheme: Five slots for Master’s and PhD Degrees in all subjects except Medicine. The Government of India selects meritorious Sri Lankan nationals for award of these scholarships. Selection of candidates is done in consultation with the Ministry of Higher Education, Government of Sri Lanka, to pursue undergraduate, postgraduate and PhD degrees in some of the topmost universities in India. All scholarships cover full tuition fees for the entire duration of the course, in addition to a monthly sustenance allowance. The scholarship also covers accommodation allowance and an annual grant for books, stationary. Besides, all ICCR scholars in India are provided full healthcare facilities, air fare to the nearest destination in India and an annual grant for educational tours to various parts of the country, apart from several other auxiliary benefits. The selection of candidates would be done through the Ministry of Higher Education in Sri Lanka. The ministry has invited applications from eligible candidates and the application forms can be downloaded from the website of the Ministry of Higher Education at www.mohe.gov.lk. The last date for submission of duly filled up application forms for postgraduate/PhD courses and undergraduate courses is 26 January 2015. Prospective students are advised to approach the Ministry of Higher Education to learn more about the eligibility criteria and selection procedure. Interested candidates can also direct their queries to the High Commission of India or visit our website for further details on the scholarships.