10th CCS convocation with Ruby Anniversary International Conference on Chemical Education

Thursday, 10 April 2014 01:07 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The College of Chemical Sciences, the educational arm of the institute of Chemistry Ceylon held its 10th Convocation to award certificates, awards and medals to nearly 150 passed out Graduate Chemists, Licentiate Chemists, Advanced Diplomates and Technician Diplomates on Thursday 3 April at Waters Edge. Distinguished Chemist Professor Atta ur Rahaman FRS, Former Federal Minister of Pakistan who was  the Chief Guest on this occasion was conferred an Honorary Fellowship of the Institute of Chemistry Ceylon. A large number of distinguished Chemists were present at this two day conference which was held from 3-4 April and this included the members of the Federation of Asian Chemical Societies, which body held an Executive Committee meeting for the second time in Sri Lanka on 2 April. Its President Professor Andy Hore from Singapore and Professor Lars Bohlin from Uppsala University in Sweden were the Chief Guests.