(TOYP) Awards for 2012

Friday, 21 September 2012 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Ten Outstanding Young Persons of Sri Lanka (TOYP) Awards for 2012 was held on Wednesday with Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa as the Chief Guest.

Among this year’s recipients were Lieutenant Yoshitha Rajapaksa for personal accomplishment and Deshal de Mel, a young economist and alumnus of Oxford University and London School of Economics attached to the Strategic Business Development Unit of Hayleys Plc for personal improvement.

Other winners of the awards scheme organised by Junior Chamber International (JCI) Sri Lanka were Roofmart Chairman and Managing Director T. Bandara Jayasundera (business and entrepreneurial accomplishment), Buddhi Batiks Creative Director Darshi Keerthisena, Think Green Director Sivahar Muthuramalingam (Environment Leadership), SLIIT undergraduate Ganindu Nanayakkara (technological development), Rajarata University Head of Biochemistry Department, Faculty of Medicine and Allied Sciences Dr. Faiz Marikar, Consultant Hepatobillary and Gastrointestinal Surgeon and Senior Lecturer Dr. Chandika Liyanage (Medical Innovation), musician and artiste Ashanthi de Alwis (Contribution to Arts) and YES FM’s Riyaz Deen Shahajahan (Contribution to Media).

CIC Holdings was the principal sponsor of the 2012 awards scheme.