SKAL Colombo honours long standing members at World SKAL Day function

Monday, 16 May 2016 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Skal Colombo Secretary Sk Zahara Mufti with her award From left: Past Presidents Sk. Shamali De Vaz, Sk. Jayantha Panabokke, Sk. Dushy Jayaweera (President), Zahara, Sk. Sega Nagendra and Sk. Wing Cmdr Noel Fernando


Sk Sohli Captain with his award and the Past Presidents of SKAL International Colombo (from left): Sk. Keethi Jayaweera, Sk. Jayantha Panabokke, Sk. Shamali De Vaz, Sk. Zahara Mufti, Sk. Wing Cmdr Noel Fernando, SK. Sega Nagendra, Sk. Sohli Captain and Sk. Dushy Jayaweera (President)

SKAL International Colombo celebrated World SKAL Day on 6 May with a dinner meeting at the Ramada Colombo. Over 90 members and guests participated in the event which featured John Keells Holdings Deputy Chairman Ajit Gunewardena as the Guest Speaker, who spoke on ‘The way forward for the Leisure Sector and Tourism in Sri Lanka’. His speech was a very thought provoking one touching many aspects of the future of tourism.

During the evening’s proceedings, two well-known personalities who are SKAL members were presented with awards. Sk Sohli Captain was felicitated on completing 40 years of SKAL membership on 1 May. He commented that he enjoyed attending SKAL meetings and networking with fellow Skalleagues. His only complaint was that he joined SKAL very late and regretted not joining earlier so that he could have had many more years to enjoy the benefits of SKAL.  

The second person to be felicitated was Sk Zahara Mufti who had completed 25 years as Secretary of SKAL International Colombo. Zahara has been the driving force behind SKAL Colombo and if not for her hard work and perseverance, SKAL Colombo may have ceased to exist many years ago. 

Both Sk Sohli and Sk Zahara were presented their tokens of appreciation by the Past Presidents of SKAL Colombo. 

Two new members, General Manager Oman Air Colombo Gihan Karunaratne and Hospitality Consultant Wigneswaran Subramaniam, were inducted as new members by President Dushy Jayaweera during the evening. 

A Business Card draw followed with the top prize donated by Qatar Airways of a return air ticket to Boston which was won by Druvi Gunesekera.