Thailand extends visa-on-arrival fee waiver for citizens of 20 countries

Tuesday, 22 January 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Royal Thai Government has approved the extension of the visa-on-arrival fee waiver for citizens of 20 countries until 30 April.

Previously, the exemption of the visa-on-arrival fee was originally scheduled to end on 13 January.

The extension will be a welcome move for those looking to visit Thailand for Chinese New Year in February and to enjoy the Thai New Year (Songkran) in April.

Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) Governor Yuthasak Supasorn said: “This year, the Chinese New Year official opening ceremony will be held at Siam Square, one of the most popular shopping areas in Bangkok. We aim to attract more of the younger generation to enjoy the traditional performances.”

Every year, China sends over 100 traditional Chinese dancers and musicians, martial artists, Chinese opera performers and acrobats from several cities in a cultural exchange. In addition to the opening ceremony, typically held at Bangkok’s Yaowarat (China Town), performances are also held in key cities around Thailand where Chinese New Year is celebrated in grand style. In return, TAT organises education tours of Thailand for the performers.

Thailand is also set to introduce online tourist visas. These e-visas will start with residents of Beijing, China on 15 February and be gradually rolled out to other cities in China. Residents of the United Kingdom and France will also be able to get e-visas from 1 March and 1 April, respectively.