PSC to present motion to extend sittings by one month

Wednesday, 14 August 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

 Parliament Complex


  • Motion to extend PSC sittings to be presented on 23 August in Parliament 
  • During extension PSC to consider summoning President Sirisena to testify 
  • Malalgoda Commission Chairman and Secretary among those likely to be called before PSC 
  • Former Law and Order Secy Padmasiri Jayamanne also expected to be summoned  

By Ashwin Hemmathagama

Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) appointed to investigate the Easter Sunday attacks will seek an extension of one month by moving a motion on 23 August to conclude its ongoing investigations, a top official said yesterday.  Deputy Speaker and the Chair of Committees J.M. Ananda Kumarasiri confirmed to Daily FT that during the extension the PSC will consider summoning President Maithripala Sirisena, the Secretary of the Malalgoda Commission appointed by President to investigate the Easter Sunday attacks, former Law and Order Ministry Secretary Padmasiri Jayamanne and the Chairman of the Malalgoda Commission, Supreme Courts Judge Vijith K. Malalgoda.

The PSC has already received the testimony of former Inspector General of Police (IGP) N.K. Ilangakoon who is also a member of the Malalgoda commission. President Sirisena appointed the committee headed by Supreme Court Judge Malalgoda on 21 April to probe into the series of terror attacks that occurred in eight places in the country. The Malalgoda Commission report was received by President on 2 May. On 22 May the PSC was appointed under the leadership of Deputy Speaker and the Chair of Committees to investigate whether law enforcement authorities had received intelligence reports relating to such attacks, prior thereto; whether the relevant authorities took adequate measures to prevent and/ or mitigate such attacks; whether there were deficiencies in the State machinery that led to the inability to prevent or mitigate the effects of such attacks; any other factors which contributed to such terrorist attacks; what action should be taken to prevent such attacks in future; and any other matters connected or incidental thereto.

This high profile committee comprises lawmakers Susantha Punchinilame, Piyasena Gamage, Prof. Ashu Marasinghe, Mujibur Rahuman, Dr. Jayampathy Wickramaratne, Dr. Harsha De Silva, Karunarathna Paranawithana, Ajith Mannapperuma, Harshana Rajakaruna, J. C. Alawathuwala, Lucky Jayawardana, Sandith Samarasinghe, Mavai S. Senathirajah, Gnanamuthu Srineshan, I. Charles Nirmalanathan, A. D. Premadasa, Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa, Mohamadu Nazeer, M. S. Thowfeek, Piyankara Jayaratne, Kumara Welgama, Dr. V. Radhakrishnan, Dr. S. M. Mohamed Ismail, Ishak Rahuman, A. H. M. Fowzie, Dr. Nalinda Jayathissa, Sunil Handunnetti, Ajith P. Perera, Mylvaganam Thilakarajah, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Anuradha Jayaratne, Nimal Lanza, C. B. Rathnayake, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, T. B. Ekanayake, A. D. Susil Premajayantha, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Dharmalingam Sithadthan, and Udaya Prabhath Gammanpila. However, some lawmakers did not take part in the PSC. (AH)