Zahira Super Sixteen Soccer Sevens today

Friday, 15 October 2010 23:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Text and photo by M. Farook Lantra.

‘Zahira Super Sixteen Soccer Sevens 2010’ organized by the Past Prefects Association of Zahira College Colombo will be held at the college ground on Saturday October 16 from 6.30 a.m.

The popular seven-a-side schools football tournament is organized for the sixth consecutive year, and this year there will be 16 teams including the hosts vying for a total prize money of Ps. 500,000/-. For the first time Manipai Hindu College Jaffna (from North) is also taking part.

This invitation soccer tournament is approved by the Sri Lanka Schools Football Association (SLSFA), will be played under the auspices of Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL). It is conducted annually with the main objective and theme of adding more value to the youth football in Sri Lanka.

Speaking at the launch conference, President of the Past Prefects Association (PPA) of  Zahira College, Colombo - Taariq Booso said that Zahira Super 16 Soccer Sevens was initiated in the year 2005, and ever since, it has gained recognition as the best invitational soccer tournament in the island. Also said Zahira PPA are one of the first to bring soccer Sevens format to the schools arena and the PPA are especially grateful to the media who will share this wonderful news with the members of the public.

The Phone Company, agents for Samsung mobile phones, sponsors the event for the sixth year.

The tournament will be collected in two categories - Cup Championship and Plate Championship. The winners of the cup will get Rs.50,000/- and the Plate champions Rs. 20,000/-. Total cash and other awards of Rs. 500,000/- is up for grabs at the tournament, and the organizing committee is proud to announce that this is the first soccer tournament in the country which offered cash prizes at schools level.

Last year Hameed Al Hussain College Colombo clinched the super sixteen plum. The schools that are participating in the tournament are Ananada College, Colombo, D.S. Senanayake College- Colombo, De Maznood College - Kandana, Hameed Al Hussaini College - Colombo, Hindu College - Colombo, Holy Cross College - Kalutara, Isipatana College - Colombo, Mannipai Hindu College – Jaffna Maristela College - Negombo, Royal College - Colombo. St: Benedict’s College- Colombo, St: Joseph’s College- Colombo, Wayamba Royal College - Kurunegala, Zahira College - Colombo, Zahira College - Gampola and Zahira College Mawanella.