Zahira College Champion Kothmale Trophy

Friday, 11 November 2016 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


By Ruzaik Farook

Zahira College Colombo became the champion of the Kothmale trophy under-19 schools soccer tournament by 3-0 win over St. Patrick’s College Jaffna in the final held at the Duraippah Stadium, Jaffna. Twenty-four teams participated at this tournament with Zahira College becoming champions for the second time. Kothmale is the principle sponsor for the under-19 Schools Soccer Championship conducted by Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL).

M. A. Shaheel of Zahira College was adjudged the Man of the Match and Kaleelul Rahuman of Zahira College was adjudged the best goal keeper in the final.  

Captain of the Zahira College Mohamed Farood Faiz received the Kothmale Challenge Trophy from Chief Guest Minister of Sports Dayasiri Jayasekera. Jaffna District MP Vijayakala Maheshwaran, Main Sponsor of the tournament Cargills Ceylon PLC, Director Sales Buddhisha Herath , Zahira College Principal Trizviiy Marikkar, Board of Governors Chairman Fouzul Hameed , POG Mushin Ariff and Master in Charge Ahnaf Khan were also present.