YMCA Moratuwa conducts 7th open Junior Badminton Championship

Thursday, 30 March 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

DFT-23-6From left: Anoma Wickramanayaka, J.B.V. Fernando (Vice President – YMCA Moratuwa), Nihal Ferdinando (President – YMCA Moratuwa), L.R. Ariyananda (ex-President – WPBA), J.S.A. Fernando (Sports Committee Chairman – YMCA Moratuwa) and Niranga Fernando (General Secretary – YMCA Moratuwa) together with finalists and winners


The seventh open Badminton tournament for youngsters under 13 and 15 was organised and conducted successfully by the YMCA Moratuwa at its indoor sports complex on 18 and 19 May, said the Chairman of its Sports Committee J.S.A. Fernando. 

This tournament which was organised by the Moratuwa YMCA attracted entries from nearly 100 up and coming youngsters who exhibited a high standard of play. The Chief Guest at the Finals and the Presentation ceremony was L.R. Ariyananda, former President of Western Province Badminton Association. 

President Nihal Ferdinando of YMCA – Moratuwa and Board Members of Moratuwa Y together with parents and well-wishers of players attended this tourney which has become a popular event in the YMCA’s annual calendar. 

The obliging services of Chandana Nilantha (International umpire) were available throughout this tournament. Winners and runners up received valuable mementos, gifts, medals and certificates. Among the main sponsors of the tournament were Astron Lanka Ltd., HNB Prime Grameen Micro Finance, Commercial Bank Moratuwa, HNB – Moratuwa, Hameedias, Exa-Bind, Manulas Ltd. and Nations Lanka Finance Company. 

Fernando appreciated the services of the General Secretary and the staff of YMCA Moratuwa towards the success of this tournament.

The final results are as follows:

Under 13 Boys (Semi-Finalists)

Winner: Sandaruwan 


Runner up: Hirun Peiris        Under 13 Girls

Winner:Venuki Fernando    

Runnerup:Niroshini Peiris

Under 15 Boys

Winner: Vishan Fernando    

Runner up: Mohomed Nashwan

Under 15 Girls

Winner: Ishara Fernando

Runner up: Gayani Piyumara