Women’s Inter Club Rubgy 7s kick off on 11 June

Monday, 9 June 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Following the success of the Sri Lanka Women’s Rugby team at the Asian Regional Tournament held earlier this year, the Women’s Inter Club Rugby Sevens will be held on 11 June. The tournament, which will feature a number of members from the team that secured the Plate in the Asian Tournament, will represent their respective teams.  The matches will take place from 12 noon at Havelock Sports Club and will be played under lights towards the evening. The championship is being organised by the Womens’ Rugby Development Group together with the Western Province Rugby Football Union.  Teams which will be vying for honours include Army SC, Air Force, Navy SC, Rathgama FC, Rathgama Tigress, Thalathuoya Black Angels, Bandarawela RFC, Badulla RFC, Sithawaka RFC, Ampara Black Lions. The Western Province Union has a number of plans to build on the strong interest in local women’s rugby and help increase its popularity throughout the island. This includes introducing the sport into leading schools in Colombo to help identify talent that will feed into club and national sides as well as organising a tag rugby tournament. Not just local schools but a number of international schools have also expressed their interest in introducing the sport into their extracurricular activities. The Western Province Rugby Football Union hopes to foster and inspire the talents of young women who wish to engage in furthering their aspirations in the sport of Rugby.