UTE powers Mahagastota and Eliyakanda Hill Climb winner Darin Weerasinghe

Friday, 25 April 2014 02:23 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

As part of its commitment towards promoting motor sports, UTE sponsored the race car of Darin Weerasinghe, who won the Mahagastota and Eliyakanda Hill climb recently. The annual Mahagastota Hill Climb was organised by the Ceylon Motor Sports Club, for the 80th consecutive year. Many racing enthusiasts participated including previous motor car record holder Nishan Weerasooriya in an action-packed race which saw Darin emerge victorious. Current record holder of the Mahagastota Hill Climb Darin Weerasinghe defended his record in style against severe competition claiming the throne of the fastest timing of the day at the race held in Nuwara Eliya. This is the third consecutive year BRJW STI has won this event. Darin who went off on the 1st run came back to set the record straight on the 2nd run claiming the fastest timing of the day with 34.52 beating past record holders who were back to claim the prestigious throne of king of the hill. This year’s hill climb featured newly surfaced track and track side curbing, extra measures taken to ensure the safety of those competing. “At UTE, we applaud the sense of teamwork and fair play that prevails in the world of sports. Our global brand Caterpillar has consistently sponsored NASCAR racing through the No.31 racing team and Caterpillar/Chevrolet driver Ryan Newman in the US. As such, it made sense to sponsor Darin’s vehicle and it gives us a great sense of pride to know that we sponsored a promising young sportsman,” said UTE Sri Lanka GM-Marketing Nalin Manorathne. Darin is currently the course record holder of the Eliyakanda Hill Climb and Mahagastota Hill Climb. He will be back on the track in the next tarmac races and will compete in the newly developed gravel track at Welisara. In the world of sport, UTE has also consistently sponsored golf tournaments, most recently sponsoring the Sri Lanka Open Golf Championship, which saw many amateur golfers come together to compete at the Royal Colombo Golf Club.