University of Sydney & University of Pretoria lockdown their spots for the Red Bull Campus Cricket W

Saturday, 3 September 2016 00:35 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

DFT-16-40 DFT-16-42


University of Sydney – Australia

University of Sydney (UoS) led by the keeper-batsman Ben Trevor-Jones came into the finals with confidence and game plans by their side. They took on University of New South Wales (UNSW) and posted a total of 117 in their 20 overs. Confidence still high with a bowling attack that would be the envy of any grade club, let alone University side, Joe Kershaw started with two quick wickets and spearheaded the attack into the UNSW ranks and set the stage for them to get 11 runs off the last delivery to bring a stunning victory for the University of Sydney and claim their title to represent Australia in Sri Lanka at the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals 2016.

University of Pretoria – AssupolTuks

Murray Coetzee led the University of Pretoria team to a great victory with impressive teamwork over University of Western Cape (UWC) to set them on track to represent South Africa for a third time in the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals. Tuks defeated the University of Western Cape by 21 runs in a toughly fought final, by restricting UWC to 153/6 against the set target of 174/5. Tuks are a formidable team with three Red Bull Campus Cricket Championship titles under their belt, and definitely the team to look out for as they arrive in Sri Lanka looking for a hat trick.