Union Bank wins Trade Finance Association of Bankers softball cricket sixes

Tuesday, 20 November 2012 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Union Bank led by Kushan Lewke emerged as the new winner when they comprehensively beat HNB ‘A’ in the final at the fourth annual Trade Finance Association of Bankers Softball Cricket Sixes, concluded at the NCC grounds last Saturday.

24 teams pooled into eight groups and participated in two stages, comprising 32 matches on three pitches. Each team had six males and one female.

At the completion of the first stage, the eight group leaders advanced to the elimination round.


Results of the K-O stage matches

Quarterfinals: Union Bank 122/2 beat Pan Asia Bank 74/4; ICICI Bank 77/2 lost to HNB ‘B’ 81/3 (4.0); Nations Trust Bank 88/4 lost to HNB ‘A’ 89/0 (4.4); DFCC Bank 88/3 beat Citi Bank NA 76/1

Semifinals: Union Bank 89/3 beat HNB ‘B’88/5; HNB ‘A’ 109/1 beat DFCC Bank 97/5 (4.4).

Play-off for the third place: DFCC Bank 63/4 lost to HNB ‘B’ 67/2 (4.3)

Final: Union Bank 94/2 (5)  ( Ayeshan Perera 32, Mihiraj de Alwis 21, Kushan Lewke 15, Sanjeewa Fernando 1/13, Dinesh Panditharatne 1/19) beat HNB ‘A’ 26 all out (3.2) (Malinda Sandaruwan 1/9, Ayeshan Perera 1/1, Marlon Mendis 1/8, Kushan Lewke 1/4)

Special awards: Best Bowler —Kushan Lewke from Union Bank; Best Batsman —Ayeshan Perera from Union Bank; Man-of-the tournament —Charitha Weerasinghe from HNB ‘A’; Woman-of-the tournament —Dilani Fernando from HNB ‘A’.

The Chief Guest for the occasion was CEO/Director DFCC Vardana Bank Lakshman Silva, and he along with TFAB official Jayantha Nyunhella, President Ranjith Haputhanthri, Senior VP Susantha Fernando, Chairman Social Nihal Premasiri, Chairman Publicity and Past Presidents /TFAB Kathiravelu Pillai and Gayan Manamperi, gave away the awards at the post tournament presentation.