Uncapped Boult named in NZ cricket team

Friday, 18 November 2011 00:05 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Wellington(AP): Uncapped fast bowler Trent Boult was included in the New Zealand cricket squad Wednesday for two tests against Australia next month.

The 22-year-old left-armer joins a 13-man squad which also features the return from injury of swing bowler Tim Southee and top-order batsman Jesse Ryder.

The remaining 10 members of the squad were involved in New Zealand’s 34-run test win over Zimbabwe in Bulawayo last week.

 New Zealand will play Australia A in a four-day warmup match at Allan Border Field, Brisbane from Nov. 24 before tests at Brisbane’s Gabba ground from Dec. 1 and Hobart from Dec. 9.

Boult joins a New Zealand pace attack that includes Chris Martin, who took his 200th test wicket in the test against Zimbabwe, and Doug Bracewell, who made his debut in that series. Former captain Daniel Vettori is the squad’s only specialist spinner.

“We were keen to show consistency in selection for the tour of Australia and retain the nucleus of the side that performed well against Zimbabwe,” selection manager Kim Littlejohn said.

“In choosing our squad we decided to go with 13 players and will consider adding another seamer before the first test. That will largely depend on how the players pull up after the warm-up match.”

Boult, of Northern Districts, was a member of New Zealand Cricket’s fast bowling winter camp before being offered a central contract for the 2011-2012 season.

“It is pleasing to provide Trent with an opportunity,” Littlejohn said. “He is a promising young bowler and deserves his place in the squad after impressing at the Fast Bowling Camp during the winter and making a strong start to the Plunket Shield.”

“We have decided to allow B.J. Watling to play in the third round of Plunket Shield to give him maximum game time. We did not plan on selecting him for the warm-up match against Australia A and feel it is more beneficial to keep him playing cricket.”

“The side for the first class warmup fixture against Australia A will be chosen from the remaining 12 players.”

New Zealand squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Daniel Vettori, B.J. Watling, Kane Williamson, Reece Young.