Travel Trade Men’s and Women’s Badminton Championship

Tuesday, 11 September 2012 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

For the second year running, young Ravihari de Silva from Cinnamon Lakeside prevented Sri Lankan Airlines from pocketing a “triple” at the Serendib Leisure Management sponsored,  17th Travel Trade Sports Club Men’s and Women’s Badminton Championships 2012, concluded on Sunday at St. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia Indoor Sports Complex.

The Sri Lankans retained the two men’s events, the open and the Over – 40, beating the sponsors, Serendib Leisure Management in both finals, but their women had to play second fiddle once again losing to Cinnamon Lakeside.

The promising 24 year old, Ravihari de Silva proved that their win against the Sri Lankans at the last tournament was not a flash in the pan, as she single handedly carried Connamon Lakeside to victory, thus retaining the title for the second year.    

The others to impress were the energetic deo from Serandib Leisure Management, the 48 year old Ravi de Silva & the 51 year old, Prasanna de Alwis who stretched  the fancied Sri Lankan pair, Upul Fernando and P. Kakulawela  into a grueling  03 setter  before going down fighting  in the men’s over 40 doubles final.

Men’s Open (14 teams.)

Semi Finals: Sri Lankan Airlines beat Cinnamon Grand 3/0; Serendib Leisure beat Heritance, Ahungalle 3/1.

Final: Sri Lankan Airlines beat Serendib Leisure 3/0.

Gene De Zilva  (SL)  beat G.R.P. C Gunasekera 21/10, 21/10;  Anuraji de Silva & Sujith Wijethunga  (SL) beat H. Jayakody & Saman Bandara 21/7, 21/8;  Upul Fernando and  Mishane Jayasuriya (SL) beat D.R.P.C  Gunasekera  & K.A.R.A. Mendis 21/13, W/O.

Women (eight teams)

Semi Finals: Cinnamon Lakeside beat Cinnamon Grand 2/0;  Sri Lankan Airlines beat Ceylon Continencial 2/0

Final: Cinnamon Lakeside beat Sri Lankan Airlines  2/1

Dhanushi Kulaweera (SL) beat Gayani Dissanayake (CLC) 21/12, 21/10 ; Ravihari de Silva & Gayani Dissanayake (CLS) beat K.T. Inosha & Dhanushi Kulaweera (SL) 21/11, 21/08;  Ravihari de Silva (CLS) beat K.T. Inosha (SL) 21/6, 21/10.        

Over – 40 Men (eight teams)

Semi Finals: Sri Lankan Airlines beat Ceylon Continental 2/1;  Serendib  Leisure  beat Tangerine Beach 2/1.

Final: Sri Lankan Airlines beat Serendib Leisure 2/0.  

Upul Fernando and P. Kakulawela (SL) beat Ranil de Silva and Prasanna de Alwis 23/21, 16/21, 21/17;   Anuraji de Silva beat Manoj Perera 21/7, W/O

Special Awards: Gene de Zilva from Sri Lankan Airlines was adjudged as the most outstanding player in the men’s open, Ravihari De Silva from Cinnamon Lakeside in the women and Upul Fernando from Sri Lankan Airlines in the Men’s over 40.

At the post tournament presentation awards were given away by CEO Ravi de Silva, Director, Sales and Marketing  Suranjith de Alwis (both from  Serendib Leisure Management) and Travel Trade  Sports Club President Dushy Jayaweera.