Top SL racers back to Karting action at Speed Drome

Wednesday, 20 March 2013 00:48 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

For the first time in a period of 10 years the Sri Lankan motor sports fans and enthusiasts witnessed a unique racing experience as the Carlton Motor Sports Club in conjunction with the Asian Motor Sports Club organised the a kart race for Sri Lanka’s top racing drivers ‘Carlton Karting Champions’, a Karting race approved nationally and governed by the federation which was held recently at Speed Drome Karting centre Battaramulla.



Sponsored by Wurth Lanka, the novel concept was introduced and implemented by the two leading motor racing clubs with the objective of gathering all the senior racing drivers in to a kart track and see how they perform racing class and skills in Karts as they do day in day out, with their bigger machines.

The response was rather encouraging, as many senior drivers made it to the race making it a fun filled evening. The races were conducted in two categories, class below 75kg and class 75kg or above. The giants of the Sri Lankan motor sports battled it on the karts providing the audience a memorable evening.

Amongst some of the drivers who took part in the tremendous event were: Ashan Silva, Dilan Senevirathna, Dinesh Jaywardana, Shehara Jayawardana, Sajaad Zuhair, Nadeera Jinasena, Micale Wijesuriya, Mahen Madugalla, Shehan De Tissera, Thiwanka  Wijesekara, Emdad Hussain, Taffy Alahakoon, Ushan Perera, Clement Senarathna, Harsha Panduwawala, Shrian Samuels.

The winner of the class below 75kg’s was Nadeera Jinasena whilst Dinesh Jaywardana and Shehara Jayawardana emerged as first and second runners up respectively.

Ashan Silva emerged the winner in 75kg or above category whilst Thiwanka Wijeskara and Emdad Hussain grabbed the first and second runners up respectively.

Both clubs announced similar unique races to be accepted in the near future whilst thanking the drivers for taking their time out of the busy scheduled to make this event a success.