Thisara back, but Sri Lanka T20 squad focus on youth

Friday, 6 November 2015 00:03 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan - 2015 ICC Cricket World CupThisara Perera was not part of the squad for the ODIs against West Indies – Getty Images


ESPNCricinfo: Sri Lanka’s quest for youth continues in the Twenty20 format, as rookie bowlers Binura Fernando and Jeffrey Vandersay, as well as allrounder Shehan Jayasuriya, find places in the squad for the two-match series against West Indies. Dinesh Chandimal returns to the T20 fold after being rested against Pakistan, but Lahiru Thirimanne, who had made significant contributions to the World T20 campaign last year, has been left out.

Also in the T20 squad are batsmen Kithuruwan Vithanage and Chamara Kapugedara, and allrounder Thisara Perera, who were not named in either of the other squads in this tour.

Fernando had been penetrative but expensive in Sri Lanka’s previous T20 series, against Pakistan in July-August this year, giving away runs at 9.68 an over, though he claimed three wickets. Vandersay was relatively cheap but did not take any wickets in the two matches. He has, however, been impressive for the Sri Lanka A team across formats over the past few months.

Lasith Malinga leads the team, and the attack. He has Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, and Dushmantha Chameera to choose from in the squad, but Ajantha Mendis has been omitted from the squad, after he proved expensive in both ODIs that have been played so far this tour.

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Angelo Mathews lead the batting unit, which also contains Milinda Siriwardana and Kusal Perera.

The teams play two T20s, the first of which is scheduled for Monday. Sri Lanka remain the top-ranked T20 side 18 months after winning the World T20, but lost the previous series against Pakistan 0-2.

SL T20 squad for WI series – Lasith Malinga (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Angelo Mathews, Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay, Binura Fernando, Thisara Perera.