Tharinda Ratwatte leads Sri Lanka Youth team

Thursday, 11 September 2014 01:19 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel Trinity College Rugby Captain and Rugby ‘Lion’ Tharinda Ratwatte was selected as the captain of the Sri Lankan Youth team for this month’s Junior World Rugby Tournament (JWRT) – Asian edition, which will take place at the Race Course rugby grounds from 21 to 27 September. Current Isipathana College Captain Shenal Dileeka was selected as Tharinda’s Deputy. The tournament will see Hong Kong, Sri Lanka, Taipei and South Korea battle it out for the group championship. Japan has already qualified for the Youth Rugby World Cup in Lisbon, Portugal. The group leader in Colombo will play home and away matches against the Pacific Island winners. The one who gets the best aggregate from both the matches will get the second berth for the Youth Rugby World Cup in Lisbon. Sri Lanka only once featured in a Youth Rugby World Cup in Chile more than a decade ago. Sri Lanka Head Coach Nilfer Ibrahim told the Daily FT: “We have selected the best available side as a few did not attend practices. We need to work hard to get to the level of other teams. Teams like Hong Kong and Korea are together for more than one month and they have a better understanding. We have got the best team and Tharinda is a good leader and he knows to get the best out of the team and has proved his leadership qualities as well. We will have training both morning and evening as our schedule is very tight with the first game on 21 September.” Prop Forwards – Stephan Gregory (St. Joseph’s), Ganuka Dissanayake (Isipathana), Direndra Ratwatte (Trinity), Anurudha Basu Karunatilake (Trinity) and Lasindu Ishan (Isipathana) Hookers – Supun Warunakulasuriya (Royal), Nishal Deshan (Isipathana) and Dilan Devinda (Isipathana) Second Rowers – Umesh Madushan (Royal), Sithum Peiris (Wesley), Akila Perera (Isipathana) and Nuwan Dilan (St. Anthony’s) Third Rowers – Shenal Dileeka (Isipathana), Thariq Salley (St. Joseph’s), Isuru Rangala (Trinity), Omalka Gunaratne (Isipathana) and Chathura Dilshan (Isipathana) Scrum Half – Prasad Malith (Science), Sudam Sooriyarachchi (Isipathana) and S. Viswajiya (St. John’s Nugegoda) Fly half – Tharinda Ratwatte (Trinity) and Rehan Romesh (Isipathana) Centre – Kevin Dickson (St. Peter’s), Lochana Giriyagama (Trinity), Asela Wijesinghe (Kingswood) and Sanchana Shiek (Trinity) Wingers – Banuka Gamage (Royal) and Prince Chamara (Science) Fullback – Lahiru Prasad (Wesley) and Nimesh Jayawardena (Royal) Head Coach – Nilfer Ibrahim (Kingswood, Kandy SC and Navy SC) Technical Advisor – Ananda Kasturiarachchi (Kingswood and Kandy SC)