Stafford Motor Co. wins MCA “G” division 25-Over League Tournament

Tuesday, 30 August 2016 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Stafford Motor Co. Ltd., spearheaded by a five wicket haul by Pramesh Fernando and a classic 49-ball, 69 runs by Sanjaya Gangodawila, rode to a comfortable 08 wickets win over Palliyaguruge Group, in the 06th Stafford-Honda, MCA “G” division 25-Over League Tournament 2016 Final, concluded at the MCA Grounds on Saturday. 

Palliyaguruge Group, which won the toss and batted put up a disappointing performance with some reckless batting as they failed to go the full distance. 

The Stafford Motors four-pronged spin attack of Asantha Singappuli (5-25-1) , Shanaka Sampath (5-25-2) Skipper, Amila Mendis (5-24-1) and Pramesh Fernando (4.4 - 32- 5) spun a deadly web around the batsmen; opener Harsha de Silva (30 in 27 balls with 01 six and 04 fours) and Mohamed Muthalif (37 in 35 balls with 01 six and 04 fours) were the only batsmen to stand and fight for Palliyaguruge Group, all out for 137 in 23.4 overs.

Stafford Motors, which took to the fast lane from the start, easily reached their target, losing only 02 wickets in the process after Sanjaya Gangodawila together with Asantha Singappuli (36 not out in 47 balls) were engaged in a solid 92 runs stand for the 2nd wicket in 75 balls.

Match Referee, Thusitha Karunaratne (Sri Lanka Army) picked Pramesh Fernando (Stafford) as his Man of the Match over Sanjaya Gangodawila (Stafford)

The other three special awards based on performances in the league and the K-O Stage (up to semi-finals) went to Tharindu Siriwardena from Maliban Biscuits, the Best Bowler (08 matches 38 overs, 157 runs, 18 wickets best 6 for 16 Vs. Roche Products) ; Anjula Perera from Maliban Biscuits, the Best Batsman (06 innings, 363 runs, 02 not outs, best 157 not out Vs. Roche Products) ; Asantha Singappuli from Stafford Motors, the Man of the Tournament, (08 innings 324 runs inclusive of 04 half centuries and 29.3 overs, 155 runs, 13 wickets)

Awards were presented by Dr. Kalinda Kaluperuma, MD/CEO (Chief Guest) and Charaka Perera, Director, Motor Cycles and Power Products ( Guest of Honour) – both from Stafford Motor Co. Ltd. and the MCA Officials – Niran Mahawatte (President), Sujeewa de Silva (Chairman /Tournament Committee) and Sanjaya Wijesinghe (Secretary/Tournament Committee) 

Chief scores 

Paliyaguruge Group: 137 in 23.4 Overs (Harsha de Silva 30, B. Palliyaguruge 11, D. Harischandra 10, M. Muthalif 37, U. Rajapaksa 12, Shanaka Sampath 2/25, Pramesh Fernando 5/32)

Stafford Motors – 139 for 2 in 20.3 overs (Romesh Fernando 18, Sanjaya Gangodawila 69, Asantha Singappuli 36 not out)