Sri Lanka vs. West Indies 1st ODI washed out

Tuesday, 1 February 2011 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP)—The first one-day international between Sri Lanka and West Indies was abandoned because of rain at Sinhalese Sports Club on Monday.

West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and elected to bat first and his team made 245-5 in 50 overs before rain started during the innings break. The steady rain eventually forced match officials to abandon the game.

The West Indies top order failed to get the start they wanted, losing Chris Gayle with the total on six and Darren Bravo at 42.

Gayle (4) edged seamer Nuwan Kulasekara to wicketkeeper Kumar Sangakkara and Bravo was run out after making eight.

But Barath (113) and Ramnaresh Sarwan, who returned to form with 75, shared 165-runs for the third wicket.

Barath hit eight boundaries and two sixes in 129 balls, while Sarwan’s 100-ball innings included a six and four boundaries.

Lasith Malinga ruined the West Indies’ hopes of a big score in their batting power play, taking two wickets in three balls as the in-form partners departed in identical fashion—caught by Chamara Kapugedera at long-on.

Malinga finished with 3-51 to restrict the visitors to a score which could have been chased down if not for rain.

West Indies returned to Sri Lanka to complete a limited-overs series after a scheduled five-match series was washed out in December. Much of the drawn three-match test series was also lost to rain.

West Indies Innings

    Chris Gayle c Sangakkara b Kulasekara    4

    Adrian Barath c Kapugedera b Malinga    113

    Darren Bravo run out            8

    Ramnaresh Sarwan c Kapugedera b Malinga    75

    Kieron Pollard b Malinga            4

    Shivnarine Chanderpaul not out        13

    Darren Sammy not out            21

    Extras (2lb, 5w)                7

    Total (for five wickets )             245

Overs: 50.

Fall: 1-6, 2-42, 3-207, 4-207, 5-215.

Did not bat: Carlton Baugh, Kemar Roach, Nikita Miller, Ravi Rampaul

Bowling: Lasith Malinga 10-0-51-3 (2w), Nuwan ulasekara 10-2-35-1, Anjelo Mathews 7-0-35-0, Muttiah Muralitharan 10-0-42-0, Ajantha Mendis 9-0-50-0 (3w), Chamara Kapugedera 2-0-11-0, Tillakaratne Dilshan 2-0-19-0.