Sri Lanka picks 7 players for Davis Cup tie against Philippines

Tuesday, 26 November 2013 01:16 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The selection committee of Sri Lanka Tennis Association (SLTA) has picked a seven-member squad for their first round Davis Cup tie, scheduled to be held in January, 2014. Harshana Godamanna, Dineshkanthan Thangarajah, Rajeev Rajapakse, Sharmal Dissanayake, Amresh Jayawickrema, Sankha Atukorale and Dhanushka Abeywardena have been selected to represent their country against Philippines. Sri Lanka will meet Philippines in the Asia-Oceania Zone Group-II first round tie which will be held at the SLTA courts in Colombo. In their previous tie, Sri Lanka fought off stern resistance from Lebanon to retain its place in Asia/Oceania Group II. Bassam Beidas won both of his singles rubbers for Lebanon to force a live fifth rubber after Harshana Godamanna and Rajeev Rajapakse had combined to put Sri Lanka 2-1 ahead. Sri Lanka’s Dineshkanthan Thanangarajah finished the job, defeating Karim Alayali in straight sets.