Sri Lanka beats Chinese Taipei

Monday, 16 April 2012 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Sri Lanka Rugby team led by Yoshitha Rajapaksa yesterday beat Chinese Taipei 36 to 8 at the HSBC Asian Five Nations (HSBC A5N) Division I tournament which kicked off in Manila, Philippines.

Try scorers included Dinusha Chathuranga, Semedha Malwana, Charuth Senevirathne, Hasitha Perera, Rajeendra Meepage with 2 Conversions and 1 Penalty.

In the other match the host Philippines beat Singapore 37 to 20.

Both matches were played at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in the heart of Manila.

Sri Lanka will play Singapore on Wednesday and the Philippines on Saturday.

Before coming to Manila, Sri Lanka stopped over in Hong Kong for two days where they played against the Hong Kong national team.The HSBC A5N Division I championship also marks the start of the qualification process for Asia for Rugby World Cup 2015 in England. The Division I winners will be promoted to the elite competition in Asian rugby, the HSBC A5N Top 5, in 2013, thus keeping their Rugby World Cup 2015 dream alive. As added inspiration, the Webb Ellis Cup, (the trophy presented to the winners of the quadrennial Rugby World Cup), made its first ever appearance in the Philippines at the matches yesterday as well.