Speed Championship 2013 round 2 to commence in June

Monday, 13 May 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Speed Championship 2013, round 2, will take place on 2 June, at the Speed Drome Pannala race track. The qualifying sessions will take place the day before. The races are scheduled to commence by 9:00 a.m. and will conclude by 2:00 p.m.

As in round 1, many car events are scheduled together with motor cycle events and the Formula McLarens 1300 event will have two races on the day, where 10 young Novice drivers will be battling it out to gain points for the SLAS Junior National Championship. The youngest group of drivers who were selected from last year all-island Pro Karting Championship organised by Speed Drome will be driving the Formula Mclarens 1300 race cars. “Entries are now open for the Speed Championship 2013 round 2, and will close on 27 May 2013, at the Speed Drome Battaramulla. We are accepting entries from all the SLAS approved classes and will schedule the events accordingly,” a spokes person for the joint organising committee of the Speed Championship 2013 said.As the Speed Championship is a jointly organised race meet, The Ceylon Motor Sports Club will organise this round of the Speed Championship together with the able support of the Asian Motor Racing Club, The Carlton Motor Sports Club and the Negombo Motor Sports Club.