SLC Ex-Co takes key initiatives to further develop cricket

Thursday, 13 June 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Executive Committee meeting of Sri Lanka Cricket was held on Tuesday 11 June presided over by President Jayantha Dharmadasa made a host of key decisions to further develop the sport. 

The decisions taken were as follows:

The Exco appointed a high-powered Coaching and Cricket Committee including eminent past cricketers together with office bearers to look into Sri Lanka’s cricketing affairs and to drive it forward.


Coaching & Cricket Committee:

All Office Bearers to be Ex-Officio Members

Ranjit Fernando - Chairman

Sanath Jayasuriya - National Selector

Hashan Tillakaratne - National Selector

Chaminda Mendis - National Selector

Muttiah Muralidaran

Kapila Wijegunawardene

Dushan Soza

Gamini Wickramasinghe

Lalith Kaluperuma

Jayantha Amarasinghe - Women’s Selection Committee Representative

Duminda Wickramasinghe -  Junior Selection Committee Representative

Roshan Iddamalgoda - Tournament Selection Committee Representative

Dilshan De Silva - Schools Selection Committee Representative

Ashley De Silva - Actg. CEO - Co-Opted

Carlton Bernadus - Actg. HOCO - Co-Opted

Jerome Jayaratne - Head Of Coaching

 The Exco appointed an all-important National Development Committee, headed by President of SLC Jayantha Dharmadasa, to look into the development of cricket in the entire country and this committee will include all office-bearers and Ex-Co representatives of the districts, clubs, associations, provinces and schools.


National Development Committee:

Jayantha Dharmadasa - Chairman

Nishantha Ranatunga - Secretary

K. Mathivanan - Vice President

Mohan De Silva - Vice President

Hirantha Perera - Asst. Secretary

Nuski Mohamed - Treasurer

Ajita Pasqual - Asst. Treasurer

Shammi Silva - Controlling Clubs

Srinath Silva - Controlling Clubs

Irwin Jayawardene - Controlling Clubs

Jayananda Warnaweera - Affiliated Clubs

Sumith Perera - Affiliated Clubs

Tilina Tennakoon - Districts / Provinces

Dr. Sanjaya Sedara Senerath - District / Provinces

Dilshan De Silva - Schools

Nalin Aponso - Associations

Ashley Rathnayake - Associations

 Appointment of three Umpires to the ICC Umpires Panel 2013/14

1. Ranmore Martinesz - On-field Umpire

2. Ruchira Palliyaguru - On-field Umpire

3. Ravindra Wimalasiri - TV Umpire

Secretary Nishantha Ranatunga briefed the most venerable Inamaluwe Sri Sumangala Nayake Thero, the Chief Incumbent of the Rangiri Dambulla Rajamaha Viharaya concerning the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium. SLC Treasurer Nuski Mohamed and Matale DCA President Deputy Minister Transport Rohana Dissanayake and members of the Matale DCA also took part in this important discussion. It was suggested to upgrade or reinstall a new floodlight system as per new ICC regulations in the future by SLC. Playing of international cricket matches will commence in the near future as day games until the lighting system is upgraded. The RDICS will host New Zealand in November 2013. The Exco approved the proposal.


Other decisions taken

nWomen’s Team to have three tours per year (Outbound / Inbound). The Sri Lankan women’s team will tour South Africa in October 2013 and the India women’s team will tour Sri Lanka in January 2014.

  • New Zealand will tour Sri Lanka in November 2013 for three ODIs and two T20s. The 3rd ODI will be played at the Dambulla International Stadium.

  • To construct four turf pitches in the Badulla Cricket Ground.

  • The Indian national under-19 team to tour Sri Lanka between July/August 2013 for one four-day match and five ODIs. The tour will begin with the first four-day match played at the Dambulla International Stadium.

  • Sri Lanka’s under-17 development squad to tour England in August 2013 for a two-day game and three ODIs.

The under-23 division three format will have a team each from the North/East and Uva provinces included in the tournament.

  • National Women’s Coach Harsha De Silva tendered his resignation affective 2 August 2013 which the Ex-Co accepted

  • Administration expenses for all district cricket associations and provincial cricket associations as a grant was approved.

  • The Ex-Co instructed that the disciplinary Inquiry held against the three Umpires alleged to have fixed matches during the SLPL to be concluded within two weeks and the report made public.