Shore To Shore A team wins Printers Sixes again

Wednesday, 3 June 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


All competing teams


Art competition for children


Cricketing legend and Chief Guest Sanath Jayasuriya


Ladies cricket teams


Shore to Shore A team


Shore to Shore winning team captain receiving the trophy from Sanath Jayasuriya


The teams in action


The 10th anniversary of the Printers Sixes was celebrated in grand style at the NCC Grounds on 23 May. The Printers Sixes Tournament organised by the Sri Lanka Association of Printers, has grown rapidly in to a keen contest between member teams of the printing fraternity and produced a high level of performance with 46 teams vying for supremacy in the 2015 edition.

Shore To Shore stamped their class as the most consistent and prolific participants at the Printers Sixes during its 10-year history, by winning the trophy for the fifth time. Shore To Shore A was the top seed in the draw and defended their title by defeating Flexi Print A Team who made their maiden appearance in a Printers Sixes final.

Flexi Print A Team had a dream run in the preliminaries, defeating JF & I Packaging placed third in 2014 and seeded third in the 2015 draw, with comfortable ease. Flexi Print chased down the JF & I target of 72in three overs for the fall of one wicket. Flexi Print then went on to trounce Print Excel, scoring 87/1 and restricted Print Excel to 54 in 4.3 overs in the semi-final.

The dominance of the Shore To Shore A Team was evident in the manner they beat Flexi Print A in the final. It was Shore To Shore all the way with Flexi Print restricted to 47/5 and Shore To Shore smashing the target in just 2.4 overs. The bowling attack of Shore To Shore was outstanding throughout the tournament and they were always backed up by consistent batting.

The Shore To Shore A Team, with a record of five wins and two runners-up achievements as well as two runners-up prizes for the Shore To Shore B team, received a special award for the Most Prolific Winners of the Printers Sixes Tournament from 20O6 – 2014.

Nuwan Janaka of Shore To Shore was adjudged the Best Bowler of the Printers Sixes 2015 and was also the Man of the Final.

Lasad Sandeepa of Flexi Print A team was adjudged the Best Batsman of the tournament whilst Thisara Wickramasinghe of Flexi Print A was the Man of the Tournament with a great all round performance throughout.

The ladies match was won by Expo Printers who beat Metropolitan Office Ltd. whilst the exhibition match was won by the Suppliers Team led by Project Chair Kevin La Faber, who defeated the Printers Six team led by Tournament and Rules Committee Chairman Vasantha Ramanayeka.

The tug o’ war was also won by Shore To Shore defeating Expo Printers. The Printers pageant was introduced in celebration of the 10th anniversary while Ryan of Metropolitan was crowned the Printers King whilst Jennifer of Expo Printers wore the Printers Queen crown.

There were many special features including an art competition for children and many other fun activities such as face painting, horse rides, non-stop music and dancing too.

The Sri Lanka Association of Printers also included a corporate social responsibility program providing eye testing and the issue of free spectacles to members of the print fraternity and family.

The final and the award ceremony were graced by Sri Lankan cricketing legend Sanath Jayasuriya as the Chief Guest who gave away the trophy to the champs.

A commemorative silver coin to mark the 10th anniversary landmark of the Printers Sixes was presented by Expo Printers and was used for the toss in all the matches.

A memento mug was also presented to every player along with a participation certificate as a token of remembrance of the remarkable occasion.