Sangakkara bags a magic triple at CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards

Thursday, 6 September 2012 02:32 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Kumar Sangakkara reiterated his status as a cricketing colossus winning three top awards -- the CEAT Cricketer of the Year, CEAT Peoples Player of the Year and Best Test Batsman, at the 2012 CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards.

Among other top award winners at the glitzy awards night at Waters Edge Last night were Rangana Herath (Best Test Bowler), Mahela Jayawardene (Best ODI Batsman), Lasith Malinga (Best ODI Bowler), Tillekeratne Dilshan (Best ODI All-rounder) and Dinesh Chandimal (Emerging Cricketer).

The top awards for women cricketers went to Chamari Atapattu (Best Batswoman), Sherina Ravikumar (Best Bowler) and Shashikala Siriwardena (Best All-rounder).

This was the fourth edition of the CEAT Sri Lanka Cricket Awards, supported by Sri Lanka’s leading tyre brand CEAT.

The CEAT Peoples Player of the Year, based on independently audited public voting, was won by Kumar Sangakkara for the third consecutive year, and this was the second occasion that he took both the Peoples Player award and the CEAT Cricketer of the Year award.

A total of 68 awards in 23 award categories were presented at the CEAT Si Lanka Cricket Awards, in respect of performances in the 2011-12 cricketing season. The awards night is organised by Sri Lanka Cricket and the Players Association with sponsorship by the event’s exclusive partner CEAT Kelani Holdings, which supported the revival of the Sri Lanka Cricket Awards in 2009.