Run-outs deny SL Women series win

Monday, 27 January 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

As many as four run-outs, including that of top-scorer Chamari Atapattu denied Sri Lanka Women a chance to claim the series as they lost by nine runs to India Women in the second T20I in Vizianagaram. Chasing 128, Sri Lanka were floundering at 15 for 2 in the third over before a 41-run stand between Atapattu and Shashikala Siriwardene helped the side recover. India pegged back with four wickets between the 14th and 17th overs, including run-outs off successive deliveries in the 16th, to leave the visitors at 101 for 7. Atapattu was one of the batters to be dismissed in that period, for a run-a-ball 40. The 27-run target proved to be beyond the lower order and Sri Lanka finished at 118 for 8. Earlier, India were stuttering at 29 for 4 in the sixth over after being asked to bat, but useful knocks from Jhulan Goswami, Amita Sharma and Sonia Dabir helped the side reach 127 for 8. All three batsmen scored 23 and added valuable runs for the fifth, sixth and seventh wickets in quick time. Pacer Udeshika Prabodhani was the most successful bowler, finishing with 3 for 16 in her four overs. Chief Scores: India Women 127 for 8 (Amita Sharma 23, Prabodhani 3-16) beat Sri Lanka Women 118 for 8 (Atapattu 40) by nine runs.