Rugby ‘Lion’ for Tharinda Ratwatte

Saturday, 2 August 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

 Tharinda Ratwatte
Trinity College Rugby Captain this year Tharinda Ratwatte received a ‘Lion’ for rugby football yesterday at the College Hall from Principal Brig. Udaya Ariyaratne. His father Ashan Ratwatte who led Trinity in the centenary year in 1983 too received a ‘Lion’ for rugby football. Earlier in Trinity rugby history, Philip Bultjens (1922) won a rugby ‘Lion’ while his son Tony Bultjens repeated the feat in 1959. In 1944 R.G. Sourjah won a rugby ‘Lion’ while his son M.R. Sourjah won the ‘Lion’ in 1974. Isvan Omar won his rugby ‘Lion’ in 1969 while his son Haris Omar repeated it in 1995. Ravin Sayer won a ‘Lion’ for cricket. Ravin also represented Sri Lanka at Under 17 level, taking over 100 wickets last season for the Trinitians. In boxing Ryan Weerakoon and Shams Ziyard won their ‘Lions’ at the College Hall yesterday.