Rohitha drives to triple at Drag Race Championship

Wednesday, 10 September 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Rohitha Rajapaksa proved his driving class by winning three events at the Ceylon Motor Sports Club Drag Race Championship first round, held at the Katukurunda Air Force base. A drag race consists of a 400-meter acceleration test across a straight track where participants have to use both their skill and reflexes to win. Rajapaksa, who won two events at the 2012 Drag Race Championship, came in as the defending champion but was expected to face severe competition from other well-known drivers. Rohitha rose to the challenge and went on to win all three events including the fastest  event of the day which is the 4WD Open Event driving his Nissan GTR with Darin Weerasinghe coming in runner-up in a Nissan GTR. Rohitha also went onto win the Upto 2200 CC event driving the Arial Atom and the Trucks and Jeep event in a BMW X6 M.  Additionally, Rohitha recorded the fastest time for 2wd cars in his Shelby GT 500 but due to mechanical faults did not get past the semi-final in that event. Erath Karunaratne clocked the fastest time for the day in the car division in his Nissan GTR with Maduranga Caldera being the fastest rider in his Yamaha R1. The Drag Race was a great success as the track was visited by more than 1500 spectators and saw the participation of more than 100 cars and 75 motorbikes. The next round is scheduled to be held in December. CMSC - SLAF DRAG RACE 2014 winners: Cars and Jeeps: Cars up to 1000cc (N/A) Winner: Suleik    Mushin    (Nissan    March 1000) Runner up: M.V.D. Kasun Gaminda (Maruti Alto 998)              Cars 1001cc up to 1300cc (N/A) Winner: Imran    Yakoob    (Suzuki    Cultus 1298) Runner up: Michael Wijesuriya (Nissan March 1300)         Cars 1301 up to 1500cc (N/A)     Winner: Chathura Samarasinghe (Honda Civic EG 1500) Runner up: Irshad Faham (Honda CRX 1500) Cars 1501cc up to 1600cc (N/A)     Winner: Emdad    Hussain Honda (Civic EK4 1490) Runner up: Shehara Jayawardane (Honda Civic 1600)             Cars 1601cc up to 2200 (N/A) Winner: Rohitha Rajapaksha (Ariel Atom 2000) Runner up: Janaka Mayakaduwa (Honda Civic 2000)             Cars up to 1600cc turbo charged        Winner: Raveen Bhagya (Toyota Starlet GT EP 82 1300)         Runner up: Shehan Niyas (Toyota Starlet GT 1300)                 Cars Open 2WD - (with 2 Seats)         Winner: Clement Senaratne (Nissan 3002X 3000)                 Runner up: Irfan Fuard    (Nissan    Skyline    2500) Cars up to 3500cc AWD Turbo Charged Winner: Tyronne Hendavitharana (Mitsubishi Evo 2000) Runner up: Pasindu Peiris (Mitsubishi Evo 7 2000) Cars Open 4WD        Winner: Rohitha Rajapaksha (Nissan GTR 3800) Runner up: Darin Weerasinghe (Nissan    GTR 3800) T & J Open Winner: Rohitha  Rajapaksha (BMW X6M 4400) Runner up: Farzan Najmudeen (Porsche Cayenne 4500)        Single Seater Racing Cars (Open) Winner: Dinesh    Jayawardane (Modified Formula Van Dieman)        Motorcycles:                 Super Motard over 100cc up to 125 cc (2T) and over 175cc up to 250cc (4T) Winner: S.K Brandigampala (Honda CRF 250) Runner up: Rohan D Pathirana (Honda CR 125) Super Motard Open [ Including 250cc up to 1100cc (2T & 4T)]        Winner: Shriyan Samuel (KTM Super Duke 990) Runner up: Dimuthu De Silva (Ducatti Multi Straada 1100) Standard Modified motorcycles over 900cc up to 1000cc            Winner: R. Shivanka Philip (Yamaha YZF -R1 1000) Runner up: Maduranga Caldera    (Yamaha YZF R1 999) Standard Modified Motiorcycles (over 100cc up to 125cc (2T)            Winner: Susil Wanniarachchi (Yamaha  TZR 125) Runner up: Prekshana Beligala (Yamaha TZR 124) Standard Modified Motor Cycles over 400cc up to 600cc (4T - 4 Cylinders) Winner: Sriyantha Anuradha (Yamaha YZF - R6 600) Runner up: R. Shivanka    Philip (Yamaha    YZF - R6 600) Standard Motorcyles Over 125cc up to 160cc (4T - Monocylinder) Winner: Rohan D Pathirana (Honda GL 145) Runner up: C. Asanka Karunarathna (Honda Hunk 150) Standard Modified Motorcycles over 175cc up to 250cc (4T)CBR  250cc Winner: R.K.S.Helavikum Randeni (Honda CBR 250) Runner Up: S.H.C Anuruddika (Honda CBR 250)