Ritzbury Junior National Squash Championship 2013 from 5 October

Thursday, 3 October 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Ritzbury has come on board for the sixth consecutive year as the sole sponsor of Sri Lanka Squash Federation’s 24th Annual Junior National Squash Championship. Sri Lanka’s premier junior squash tournament of the year is scheduled to take place from 5-12 October at the Tamil Union Sports Complex. With approximately 300 entries, the eight day long tournament will consist of eighteen events which will include Boys and Girls Under 09, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 and Novices (boys and girls) Under 11, 15 and 19. While thanking Ritzbury for their generosity, Sri Lanka Squash Federation (SLSF) President Commodore Palitha Weerasinghe noted: “Without any hesitation the Ritzbury team accepted our invitation for the sixth consecutive year. They have consistently supported the game and been a key player in popularising the game along schools in Sri Lanka.” Commenting on the sponsorship CBL Foods International Ltd. Marketing Manager Nilupul De Silva said: “Ritzbury being the market leader and trend setter in the chocolate industry is very happy to be associated with the Junior National Squash Championship, which we see as the first stepping stone for future champions. We are glad to be a part of this prestigious event and look forward to a long and fruitful partnership with the SLSF.” The Junior National Squash Championship is of utmost importance to budding Sri Lankan squash players as the federation considers their performances in this tournament when they select players to represent Sri Lanka at foreign tournaments. “While the novice category will feature the knockout draw system, the non - novice category will feature the circuit draw system to ensure fair participation. The top seed in the Boys and Girls Under 19 is Ravindu Laksiri and Mihiliya Methsarani respectively.  Ravindu and Mihiliya are currently ranked number one in the Island, with Mihiliya ranked number three in Asia in the under 17 category,” SLSF Vice President Cpt. Lasantha De Silva said. The winner of the Boys Under 19 will be awarded the Navin Piyathissa Challenge Trophy, whilst the Girls Under 19 winner will receive the Nirasha Guruge Challenge Trophy. In addition, two special awards will be awarded to the Most Improved Player in the Girls and Boys over 13 categories.