Prior replaces Davies in England’s CWC squad

Friday, 21 January 2011 04:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

England selectors on Wednesday announced the final 15-man squad for the forthcoming ICC Cricket World Cup hosted in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka commencing 19 February.

England National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: “We believe we have selected an extremely exciting World Cup squad that offers balance with several options across the entire squad.

“With this tournament being staged on the subcontinent the conditions will require a specific style of cricket and we feel that we’ve selected a squad that can prosper in these conditions.

“Under the leadership of Andrew Strauss we certainly feel we have a squad that can make strong progress in this World Cup as we seek to add to the success of ICC World Twenty20 from last year.

“Matt Prior returns to the England ODI squad after a brief absence and given his recent form and his batting style, which is very well suited to the subcontinent conditions, we believe his inclusion is warranted.

“Due to his inclusion in this World Cup squad Matt - who is currently representing Victoria in the Australian domestic Twenty20 competition - will join up with the England squad later this week ahead of the second ODI against Australia in Hobart on Friday. “Despite some strong performances both with the bat and behind the stumps by Steven Davies we feel that Matt’s game will be better suited to the conditions in Bangladesh and India, the venues staging England’s group matches.

“With spin bowlers set to play a prominent role in this World Cup we feel we have quality and depth in Graeme Swann, Michael Yardy and James Tredwell who have all shown their capabilities at international level.

Team: Andrew Strauss (captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Ajmal Shahzad, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.