Pin Fernando Trophy reaches quarterfinal stage

Wednesday, 15 July 2015 00:29 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Top qualifier Aravind Fernando sailed into the quarterfinal round of the Pin Fernando Trophy with a walkover against Chandana Gunasekera while second seeded Ravindra Wijeguneratne battled his way past the experienced Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) President Johnny de Saram.BUP_DFT_DFT-20-41

Diresh Palihena won with the widest margin, defeating Lee Cong Pa, and now plays top-seeded Fernando in the first quarterfinal. Young hopeful Ishira Fernando comfortably brushed aside Mindika Hettiarachchi, even though he gave 12 strokes.  Ishira meets Adrian Bakelmun, who beat Daniel Oritz in the second quarterfinal. 

Sheron Fernando, playing off a 4 Handicap, defeated Kamlesh Johnpillai and plays Wijeguneratne in what will be a close encounter.

Suren Waas, who overcame Kaplia Dandeniya, meets Chandana Weerasinghe, who had the toughest battle of the pre-quarterfinal matches going down the 20th to edge out Nimal Perera in the second sudden-death hole.

The quarterfinal matches continue today with Aravind Fernando playing Palihena, Ishira Fernando meeting Adrian Bakelmun, Wijeguneratne playing Sheron Fernando and Chandana Weerasinghe playing Suren Waas.

The ladies, playing for the Pam Fernando Trophy, will also see their quarterfinal matches start today at the RCGC.

Pin Fernando trophy 2015 Pre-Quarterfinal results at a glance:

Aravind Fernando W/O Chandana Gunasekera

D. V. H. Palihena defeated Lee Chang Pa 

Ishira Fernando defeated Mindika Hettiarachchi 

Adrian Bakelmun defeated Daniel Oritz 

Ravindra S Wijegunaratne defeated johnny De Saram 

Sheron Fernando Defeated Kamlesh Johnpillai 

Chandana Weerasinghe defeated Nimal Perera 

 Suren Waas defeated Kaplia Dandeniya