Over 300 avid golfers participate at fourth annual Etisalat Golf Classic

Tuesday, 6 August 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The highly anticipated fourth annual Etisalat Golf Classic recently concluded amidst much glitz and glamour at the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC), with the overall winners from the Etisalat Elite Club awarded all-expenses paid golf tours to Abu Dhabi. Sanjiv Vairavanathan emerged as the Elite Club Men’s Overall Winner with 41 points (B/B9), while Niranjalee Amarasuriya took the grand prize for the Elite Club Ladies’ Overall Winner with 39 points (B/B9). The grand prizes, presented to the winners by Director/Chief Executive Officer of Etisalat Lanka, Dumindra Ratnayaka, entitles them to an all-expenses paid trip to Abu Dhabi, flying Business Class and includes airport transfers, transport and five-star accommodation. Once in Abu Dhabi, the well-deserved winners will have the opportunity of playing three rounds on the greens of the renowned Abu Dhabi Golf Club, as well as attending the Abu Dhabi Open international golf tournament. Commenting at the culmination of this year’s tournament, Dumindra Ratnayaka said: “I would like to congratulate the winners in all categories for their success in one of the fixed staples in the local golfing calendar. We at Etisalat are proud to be associated with such a prestigious sport such as golf and continue to be committed to the development and promotion of the sport in Sri Lanka.” Other categories in the tournament included Sri Lanka Squad Players, Seniors, Maters, Ladies Silver and Bronze, as well as Etisalat Invitees Divisions A to C. Winners of these category were also awarded prizes such as devices and free air time from Etisalat. B.A. Rohana emerged the winner of the Sri Lanka Squad Players category with 65 gross points and received his prize from Lal Dias, President of the Sri Lanka Golf Union (SLGU). Meanwhile, Prasanna Goonetilleke was at the top of the leader board in the Seniors (Nett) category with 48 points, while Roy Anthony recorded 47 points to take the Masters (Nett) division. Both victors received their awards from Nimal Piyarathna, Captain of the RCGC. Michael Perera, Vice Captain of the RCGC, handed out prizes to R. Sangani who was the winner in the Ladies Silver Division (Nett) with 39 points, as well as the winner of the Ladies Bronze Division (Nett) Derna De Silva who scored 40 points. Additionally, Deputy CEO/Chief Financial Officer of Etisalat, Riyaaz Rasheed presented the awards to the winners of the Etisalat Invitees categories, who are afforded specific handicaps. Played with a 0-9 handicap, Division A (Nett) was taken by Sanjeewa Wickramanayake with 39 points, while Division B (Handicap 10-18; Nett) went to Ceasar Fernando with 43 points and Isam Salie won Division C (Handicap 19-28; Nett) with 43 points.