Norman names line-up for golf Shootout

Saturday, 5 November 2011 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Six major champions, including 2011 PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley, were among 24 golfers named on Thursday to compete in the 23rd annual Franklin Templeton Shootout hosted by Greg Norman.

The 54-hole event, set for December 9-11, matches 12 pairs of US PGA players in a modified alternate-shot format during round one, a better ball on Saturday and a final-round scramble on Sunday.

Bradley, won captured the PGA Championship at Atlanta Athletic Club in August, will be joined by fellow American Brendan Steele while US PGA money list runner-up Webb Simpson is teamed with US compatriot Anthony Kim.

Australian legend Norman will pair with Sweden’s Fredrik Jacobson, a Shootout debutante, while Zimbabwe’s Nick Price will be with American Mark Calcavecchia.

South African Rory Sabbatini and Venezuela’s Jhonattan Vegas, who each won US PGA events this season, will team up while Colombian Camilo Villegas is joined by rising young US star Rickie Fowler.

All-American pairings unite Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker, Justin Leonard and Charles Howell, Stewart Cink and Bo Van Pelt, Jason Dufner and Sean O’Hair, Chad Campbell and Chris DiMarco as well as JB Holmes and Kenny Perry.

Campbell replaced Fred Funk, who had recent thumb surgery, while Van Pelt came in for Brandt Snedeker, who underwent recent hip surgery.

“I received a lot of feedback from the players this year regarding who they would like to play with,” Norman said.

“The fact that so many were interested is a nice reflection of how they view this event and what it means.”