Mclarens sweeps the board at Badminton Nationals

Monday, 2 November 2015 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


From  left : Louise Karunaratne, Niluka Karunaratne, Rohan De Silva, Ruvini Rathnasiri, Thilini Hendaheva, Achini Rathnasiri


Rohan De Silva and Louise Karunaratne receiving the title for the Over 55 Men’s Doubles Event 


The 63rd National Badminton Championship 2015 was held in Anuradhapura from 22-27 October at the newlybuilt Mike Cooke Badminton Stadium and the adjoining Municipal Council Stadium.

The McLarens team produced both the men’s and women’s champions, Niluka Karunaratne and Thilini Hendaheva respectively. Karunaratne was also the Men’s Doubles Champion while Achini Rathnasiri of McLarens won the Women’s Doubles Championship.

McLaren’s veteran champions Rohan De Silva and Louise Karunaratne won the Over 55 Men’s Doubles title in straight sets.

Notable achievements by the McLarens players included:

1.Winner Open Men’s Singles – Niluka Karunaratne 

2.Winner Open Men’s Doubles – Niluka Karunaratne 

3.Runners Up Open Mix Doubles– Niluka Karunaratne 

4.Semi Finals Mixed Doubles – Ruvini Rathnasiri

5.Runners Up Opens Men’s  Doubles– Sachin Dias

6.Semi Finals Open Men’s Singles– Sachin Dias

7.Semi Finals Open Women’s Doubles – Amali Amarasinghe 

8.Semi Finals Open Women’s Singles  - Achini Rathnasiri

9.Winner Open Women’sSingles – ThiliniHendaheva

10.Runner Ups Open Women’s Doubles  - Thilini Hendaheva

11.Winner Open Women’s Doubles  – Achini Rathnasiri 

12.Over 40 Men’s Singles Runners Up – Upendra Jayawardene

13.Over 40 Men’s Singles Semi Finals – Clarence Homer

14.Winners Over 40 Men’s Doubles - Clarence Homer & UpendraJayawardene

15.Winners Over 55 Men’s Doubles  - Rohan De Silva & Louise Karunaratne 

For the first time the Sri Lanka Badminton Association organised a championship amongst the provinces and the clubs and organisations representing various players.While the Southern Province emerged winners of the Provincial championship, McLarens won the Club title with 34 points ahead of MAS, who obtained 27 points.

The McLarens team members included:

1.Achini Rathnasiri

2.Ruvini Rathnasiri

3.Thilini Hendaheva

4.Louise Karunaratne

5.Rohan De Silva

6.Clarence Homer


8.Niluka Karunaratne 

9.Sachin Dias


11.Amali Amarasinghe