McLarens Holdings overall champs at CBB Sports Triangular

Tuesday, 10 November 2015 01:29 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Annual Sports Triangular, held by the Council for Business with Britain, was absolutely dominated by McLarens Holdings Ltd. McLarens was crowned the six-a-side cricket champions as well as the badminton champions. That, combined with becoming the runner up in the badminton tournament, secured them the title of overall champions.

McLarens fielded two teams, with Team Mobil and Team McFoil both crushing the competition so easily that the finals of the badminton tournament saw the two teams facing each other. The other seven teams had no choice but to sit back and wonder who would win – McLarens or McLarens?

Both teams were equally well fielded, with the Mobil team boasting the services of former ational champion Achini Ratnasiri along with some of the best shuttlers in the country: Thisara Nimmika, Sachin Dias, Udara Nayanajith, Ruwini Ratnasiri and the CEO of McLarens Holdings himself, Rohan de Silva.


McLarens winning team at CBB Sports Triangular

Likewise, McFoil consisted of some of the most nation’s prominent badminton players, including the current women’s singles national champion Thilini Hendahewa as well as Amila Yatapana, Omal Dharmawardena, Upendra Jayawardena, Kelum Ketapearachchi and Amali Amarasinghe.

Thilini Hendahewa, as expected, won the women’s singles championship while Achini Ratnasiri teamed up with Ruwini Ratnasiri to win the women’s doubles final. Thisara Nimmika emerged the men’s singles champion and also went on to win the men’s doubles final with Sachin Dias to assure a clean sweep for McLarens Holdings.

The main event of the day was a six-a-side cricket tournament which saw over 40 teams competing in 8 different brackets.

The preliminary rounds of the tournament were held according to league format. The McLarens cricketers had no difficulty in reaching the knock-out stage, getting through to the semi-finals quite comfortably.

In the finals, they decisively overwhelmed MAS Shadowline with 114 for no loss in five overs thanks to the highest individual score of the tournament made by the leader of the McLarens team, Sandaruwan Hettiarachchi, and a supportive knock by Kasun Sanjaya. MAS Shadowline had to score six runs to win in the last delivery but were eventually bowled out for 108.

McLarens cricketer Kasun Sanjaya was named Man of the Series for his heroics while his teammate Asantha Soloman won the Best Bowler of the Tournament award. The rest of the team was composed of Chalitha Madusanka, Hasanka Pathirana, Harshani Liyanage and Dushini Jayathillake. The triangular is organised annually to bring together sportsman and women from top business entities in Sri Lanka onto one playing field. In the case of the 2015 Triangular, the competition made it quite clear that McLarens excels at sports and business both.