Maliban Biscuits, SLT into final of MCA ‘G’ division 25-Over league tournament

Wednesday, 2 August 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Maliban Biscuits and Sri Lanka Telecom booked their berths to play in the final of the MCA ‘G’ division 25-Over League Tournament 2017 for the 7th Honda Trophy sponsored by Stafford Motor Co. Ltd.

In the semifinals played over last weekend at the MCA grounds, Maliban flexed their muscles with a comfortable seven-wicket win over Avery Dennison on Saturday and on Sunday, Sri Lanka Telecom made a great escape to beat HNB ‘B’ by 31 runs.

In the game between Maliban and Avery Dennison, Maliban spin twins Chamara Ratnayake (4-1-11-4) and Anjula Perera (5-28-3) spun a deadly web around Avery Dennison’s batsmen and as a result they were shot out for a paltry 84 runs in 22 overs. Maliban shed little sweat in reaching their target in 15.1 overs, losing only three wickets. 

Meanwhile, when SLT took on HNB ‘B’, HNB’s paceman Mohamed Ikram put SLT in a precarious position, bagging the first three wickets for zero runs. Two more wickets fell and SLT were staring down the barrel at 17 for 5. 

Kalpa Bandaranayake was the SLT batsman who slayed the dragon with a fighting 85-run partnership off 59 balls for the sixth wicket with Suranga Wijeratne. Bandaranayake also made a valiant 71 runs off 40 balls, hitting 4 sixes and 8 fours while Wijeratne held the other end, scoring 31 runs as SLT made a face-saving 159 for 9 in 25 overs. 

HNB, despite some good batting by D. Panditharatne (42) and G. Hondamunige (39), fell by the post, being all out for 128 runs with a ball to spare. The bowlers who were responsible for putting the bankers on the wrong side of the ledger were Jagath Siriwardena (3/36), Kalpa Badaranayake (2/28) and Malinda Perera (2/15).

Chief Scores of the semifinals played at MCA over the weekend. 

Top half semifinal – Maliban Biscuits beat Averi Dennison by 7 wickets.

Avery Dennison – 84 all out in 22 overs (C. Wijeratne 30, C. Ratnayake 4/11, A. Perera 3/28) 

Maliban - 85 for 3 in 15.1 overs (A. Perera 43, N. Perera 29 not out)

Bottom half semifinal – Sri Lanka Telecom beat HNB ‘B’ by 31 runs.

SLT – 159 for 9 in 25 overs (Kalpa Bandaranayake 71, S. Wijeratne 31, D. Yukthi 29 not out,  Mohamed Ikram 3/23, D. Panditharatne 2/25, Anush Perera 2/27) 

HNB ‘B’ – 128 all out in 24.5 overs (D. Panditharatne 42, G. Hondamunige 39, J. Siriwardena 3/36, Kalpa Bandaranayake 2/28, M. Perera 2/15).

The final between Maliban Biscuits and Sri Lanka Telecom will take place on Saturday, 12 August at the MCA grounds at 10.00 a.m.