Malaysian Rugby Union to host Asian Rugby Championship Div I

Friday, 23 December 2016 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel

The Malaysian Rugby Union will host the 2017 edition of the Asian Rugby Championship’s Division I competition at the P.J. Stadium in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 17-23 April. 

This year’s tournament will see the division champions take on the third-placed team in a home and away encounter to decide the team which is to get promoted or relegated for 2018. In Division I, Sri Lanka, UAE, the Philippines and hosts Malaysia will lock horns in the group encounters.

Meanwhile, Hong Kong, South Korea and Japan will compete in the top 3 in 2017 in home and away matches with each team playing four games.

The Asian Sevens Series 2017 will once again be hosted by Hong Kong, South Korea and Sri Lanka. The Under-18 seven-a-side encounter will take place in Taipei and Sri Lanka will defend its title at the Under-20 encounters in Hong Kong. The venue for the Under-19 Asian Rugby Championship for 2017 has not yet been decided but is likely to be hosted in Sri Lanka.

ARC Division I in Malaysia

17 April 

  • Sri Lanka vs. the Philippines
  • Malaysia vs. the UAE

April 20

  • Sri Lanka vs. the UAE
  • Malaysia vs. the Philippines

April 23

  • The Philippines vs. UAE
  • Sri Lanka vs. Malaysia
  • Under-18 Asian Sevens in Taipei August 2017
  • Under-20 Asian Sevens in Hong Kong August 2017

Asian Sevens Series

  • First leg in Hong Kong on 1 and 2 September 
  • Second leg in South Korea on 23 and 24 September 
  • Third leg in Colombo on 13 and 14 October