LB Finance, Kanrich Finance advance to MCA ‘B’ Division final

Tuesday, 27 September 2016 00:02 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

LB Finance ‘A’ and Kanrich Finance ‘A’, two unbeaten group leaders, predictably advanced to the finals of the MCA ‘B’ Division League Tournament played for the MIDS Trophy.

In the semifinals played on Saturday, LB Finance ‘A’, after a few anxious moments, beat Hayleys Group ‘A’ by 26 runs while Kanrich Finance ‘A’ cruised to a comfortable 8-wicket win with 29 overs to spare. The match-winners for LBF were Sadeera Samarawickrama (69) and Heshan Wijeratne (5 for 33). The match-winners for Kanrich Finance ‘A’ were Alankara Asanka (3 for 17) and Kasun Vidura (108 not out). 

The final between LBF ‘A’ and Kanrich Finance ‘A’ will take place on 1 October at the MCA grounds, commencing at 10.00 a.m.

Chief scores of the semifinals

At MCA: LB Finance ‘A’ beat Hayleys Group ‘A’ by 26 runs 

    LBF ‘A’ – 243  (47.1)(Sadeera Samarawickrama 69, Lakshan Rodrigo 49, Charith Sudaraka 32, Ali Khan 3/56, Ravindu Wijeratne 2/29, Nimesha Gunasinghe 2/39)

    Hayleys ‘A’ – 217 (45.4) (Maduranga Zoysa 82, Ronil Cooray 43, Heshan Wijeratne 5/33, Charith Sudaraka 2/43) 

 At FTZ Katunayake: Kanrich Finance ‘A’ beat MAS Silueta by eight wickets.

    MAS Silueta – 177 (45.0) ( Denuwan Rajakaruna 41, Pabasara Waduge 27,  Anjelo Jayasinghe 25, Alankara Asanka 3/17, Prabath Jayasuriya 2/41)

    Kanrich Finance ‘A’: 181 for 2 (21.0) ( Shehan Fernando 37, Pawan Wickramasinghe 30, Kasun Vidura  108 not out)