LB Finance and Janashakthi Insurance win titles in MCA six-a-side cricket tournament

Tuesday, 26 July 2016 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

LB Finance won the Tier “A” and Janashakthi Insurance won the Tier “B” titles in the MCA Annual Open Six-a-side Cricket Tournament 2016, concluded at the MCA and Thurstan College grounds on Sunday. The tournament commenced on 23 July with 18 teams playing in the Tier “A” segment and 45 teams playing in the Tier “B” segment. 

The Tier “A” (at MCA turf matches) which was hampered by rain was reduced to a bowl-out contest and subsequently the Final.

The Tier “A” matches with six teams in two groups, got off to a start in glorious sun shine and stopped on its tracks when the heavens suddenly opened at 10 a.m.

Around 2:30 p.m., the MCA T/C decided to enforce the bowl-out contest to move the tournament forward.

In the bowl out contest which was conducted on knockout format after a draw with the six qualifying teams, MAS Unichela “B”, MAS Active, MAS Silueta, NTB, Mobitel and LB Finance. 

LB Finance from the top half and Mobitel from the bottom half successfully hit their targets to enter the Final. 

Tier “A” Final: LB Finance beat Mobitel by seven runs; LBF – 59/5 (5.0) (Ranitha Liyanarachchi 20, Koshan Jayawickrama 1/6, Tariq Nazir 2/6, Rangana Rajapaksa 1/17); Mobitel – 52/3 (5.0) (Sithara Gimhana 26 not out, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 2/7, Shiran Fernando 1/10).

Special awards: Most Sixes and Man of the Final: Ranitha Liyanarachchi from LB Finance; Best Bowler: Buddhika Sanjeewa from MAS Silueta “A”; Best Batsman: Chathura Peiris from MAS Unichela “B”. 

Tier “B”: The tournament with 14 teams was conducted at Thurstan and Wesley College grounds on a knockout format.

In the semifinals, MAS Silueta “B” 31/2 (5.0) lost to Janashakthi – 33/0 (3.0); Asia Asset Finance – 53/3 (5.0) lost to Stafford Motors – 54/0 (3.4).

Final: Janashakthi Insurance beat Stafford Motors by 12 runs; Janashakthi 80/0 (5.0) (Vindika Chandrasekera 32 NO, Ranga Dias 28 NO); Stafford Motors – 68/2 (5.0) (A. Singappuli 20, Sanjaya Gangodawila 16, Shanaka Sampath 24 NO, Sameera Fernando 1/13, Ranga Dias 1/5). 

Special awards: Most Sixes and Man of the final: Ranga Dias from Janashakthi; Best Bowler: Micheal Prashanth from Asia Asset Finance; Best Batsman: Nimesh Perera from Asia Asset Finance.

Awards were given away by the MCA Officials, Roshan Iddamalgoda, Snr. VP; General Secretary and Chairman, Cricket Development Committee, Nalin Wickremasinghe, Sujeewa de Silva, Chairman, Tournament Committee and Sanjaya Wijesinghe, Secretary, Tournament Committee.