Lasith consolidates lead over Nirmal

Tuesday, 2 May 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

With another impressive haul of 12,665 votes, Lasith Croospulle of Maris Stella College Negombo managed to maintain the lead he gained last week in the All-Island Schools segment of the Dialog 4G-the Sunday Times Most Popular Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2017. 

The 16th week finishes in favour of Lasith, as his overall count reached 111,846.

Lasith stands 8,671 votes ahead of former leader Navindu Nirmal of St. Aloysius College, Galle. Nirmal accelerated by adding 10,008 votes to his now overall tally of 103,175, but that was insufficient.

Mohamed Najath of Zahira College has slowed down. He received only 749 votes this week.

Pulitha Yasas Sri Sarathchandra of Sri Sumangala College Panadura continues to dominate the Emerging Schools category while the International Schools category is still led by Shimraz Shahil of Alethea International School.

The full list was pruned down to Top 20 from at the beginning of April. The list will be further reduced to 15 by May. By the end of May a Top 10 will be shortlist.


Coupons for the competition will be published in the Sunday Times, the two English dailies, the Daily Mirror and Daily FT, and the two Sinhala dailies, Daily Lankadeepa and Ada. Coupons will run for 26 weeks with the deadline set for the week beginning on 2 July. Readers can vote for their favourite schoolboy cricketer and take them to the winning post during that period.

Online voting for the Most Popular Cricketer can be done through Dialog Axiata’s digital online voting system portal via The count of week 16 of digital voting was monitored and approved by auditors PricewaterhouseCoopers.

 All-Island Schools

  •     Lasith Croosepulle (Maris Stella College) 111,846
  •     Navindu Nirmal (St. Aloysius’ Galle) 103,175
  •     Mohamed Najath (Zahira College) 59,574
  •     Charana Nanayakkara (Thurstan College) 10,401
  •     Santhush Goonathilake (St. Peter’s College) 8,950
  •     Romesh Nallaperuma (S. Thomas’ College) 6,412
  •     Dinitha Basnayake (St. Benedict’s College) 5,794
  •     Helitha Vithanage (Royal College) 1,785
  •     Mohamed Rifaz (President’s College) 1,292
  •     Lakshina Rodrigo (St. Peter’s College) 1,205
  •     Nikesh Anjana (S. Thomas’ College) 835

Sahan Suraweera (Ananda College) 683

  •     Dileepa Jayalath (Ananda College) 531
  •     Hareen Buddhila (St. Aloysius College) 473
  •     P.A. Dananjaya (Richmond College) 291
  •     Sammu Ashan (Ananda College) 232
  •     Pasindu Sooriyabandara (Royal College) 212
  •     Sanjula Abeywickrama (Isipathana College) 191
  •     Asel Sigera (Ananda College) 189
  •     Jehan Daniel (St. Joseph’s College) 134

Emerging Schools

  •     Pulitha Yasas (Sri Sumangala Panadura) 2,679
  •     Sahan Perera (Christ King Pannipitiya) 235
  •     Imesh Basnayake (St. Peter’s Gampaha) 214
  •     Gimhana Dhanushka (Piliyandala Central) 130
  •     Nipuna Ransika (P. de S. Kularatne MV) 98
  •     Methushan Thilina (Kegalu Vidyalaya) 83
  •     Raveen Yasas (Devapathiraja Rathgama) 44
  •     Suminda Lakshan (De La Salle Mutwal) 40
  •     Hirusha Mendis (Siddartha Central Balapitiya) 32
  •     Tissara Dilshan Jayananda (National School Polonnaruwa) 8
  •     Shrushee Adhishtana (St. Bernadette Kurunegala) 1

 International Schools

  • Shimraz Shahil (Alethea International) 283
  • Tariq Haniff (Wycherley International) 1


Readers prizes go to: 1. Mohan Saverimuttu, 235/9, Greenwood Terrace, Kerawalapitiya, Hendala, Wattala, 2. Vinuth S. Siriwardana, 43/56, Poorwarama Road, Colombo 5, 3. Ranjan Sudarshana, Kanilmo Inn, Mattegoda, Ku/Bopitiya, 4. Sarath K.K. Fernando, 41, 2nd Lane, Ratmalana.