Kandy Sports Club AGM on 29 June

Wednesday, 18 June 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By Shamseer Jaleel Kandy Sports Club the only outstation club playing rugby football at top level and in existence for over 100 years will holds its 139th Annual General Meeting on 29 June at Nittawela commencing 10 a.m. Former Thomian and medical practitioner Dr. Sarath Kapuwatte is holding the president post at present. Dr. Sarath Kapuwatte started his innings in 1990 holding top position and has done a yeoman service for the club. Trustee of the club former Royal scrum half Malik Samarawickerma had helped the club immensely. The Club was even without a trophy till 1992 when Kandy SC was re-born when a bunch of players pulled out from CR &FC due to a captaincy issue between former Trinity ‘Lion’ and Sri Lanka player Inthisam Marrikar and Lasitha Gunaratne. Most of the Kandy born players such as Priyantha Ekanayake, L.V. Ekanayake, Rizvi Suhaib, Shiyam Sideek and Inthisam Marrikar switched club to Kandy. Along with these talented players a few Fijians namely Kitoni Ratudrada, Batie Poniah and Wlli Moni Satala joined as overseas players. Rest was history as they won trophies such as Club sevens, Inter club league and Clifford Cup Knock out trophy in tandem. Also Kandy SC has contracted former Royal and Police player and ace place kicker Arshard Jamadeen along with former CR & FC and Up Country SC player Nigel Ratwatte in to the squad. Joining his home town cub will be last year’s Rajans centre Buwanaka Udangamuwa. All three made their club debut at the recently concluded Inter club sevens in Colombo. Cool headed coach never cracks under pressure Johan Taylor will be back with the club in two months’ time. With former Trinitian and Sri Lanka skipper Sean Wijesinghe being appointed to lead the club in rugby football he will have a heavy shoulder to bring back the Clifford Cup Knock Out as well as the League back in to Nittawela Club; die hard Kandy fans always being behind the Kandy Sport club in good and bad times.