HSBC Sri Lanka wins Ceylon Chamber Cricket Championship – 2014

Wednesday, 18 June 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

HSBC Sri Lanka won the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce ‘Cricket Championship 2014’ challenge trophy which was held on 7 June at the Colts Cricket Ground in Colombo 05. MAS Unichela became the first runners-up of the competition, while George Steuart became the second runners-up. The tournament, which was conducted commemorating the 175th year anniversary of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce also selected the Best Batsman, Nishika De Silva from HSBC; Best Bowler, W.M. Indika Nandasiri from MAS Unichela; Best Player, Sachith Nissanka and Best Female Player, Soraya Miskin from HSBC. The top three teams were given trophies and medals. The ‘Six-A-Side’ competition which was played on a league basis saw the participation of 64 teams from the local corporate sector. The first round matches were played on a league basis, with each group comprising eight teams and each team playing seven matches. The knockout phase commenced from the quarterfinals. The prize giving ceremony was graced by Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Deputy Chairman Samantha Ranatunga, CCC CEO Harin Malwatte and Manager, Branding Shanil Ruwanwella, representing the CEO of the Standard Chartered Bank, Anirvan Ghosh Dastidar. Standard Chartered Bank was the sole sponsor of the ‘Ceylon Chamber Cricket Championship 2014’. The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, which organised the event in view of the 175th anniversary of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, is planning to hold the event annually.