HNB Millennium Trophy Golf Tournament 2014 ends successfully

Thursday, 30 October 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Hatton National Bank (HNB) recently sponsored the Millennium Trophy Golf Tournament at the Royal Colombo Golf Club (RCGC) for the 7th consecutive year. One of the premier events in the golfing calendar of Sri Lanka, the tournament saw over 165 golf enthusiasts teeing off for the exciting prizes on offer. Winners with HNB Managing Director/CEO Jonathan Alles. Thimal Perera, Deputy General Manager – Retail & SME Banking, Arjuna Ratnasabapathy, Assistant General Manager – Recoveries & Credit Quality Management and Royal Colombo Golf Club Vice Captain Ranil Peiris are also present   Held on 25 and 26 October, the tournament was open to all gentlemen members of the Royal Colombo Golf Club with a current RCGC Handicap. For the first time a special category was introduced for HNB customers and the winner and the runner-up were given valuable prizes including a return air ticket to Singapore. The HNB customer event was won by Ishira Fernando while the runner-up was Priyanga Hapugalle. There was also a Stableford Tournament for those who participated on Saturday which consisted of five categories, namely Group A (Handicap, 0-9), Group B (Handicap, 10-18), Group C (Handicap, 19-28) Seniors Division and Master Division. The winners were determined by the average strokes taken (net of handicap). The Millennium Trophy overall winner of the category with the best aggregate nett score was Lalith Rohitha while the runner-up was Prashan Peiris. The best aggregate gross score winner was Prashan Peiris and the runner up was Lalith Rohitha. Group A – Handicap 0 to 09 winner was S. T. B. Jayasinghe and the runner-up was Lalith Rohitha, Group B – Handicap 10 to 18 winner was Dinuk Wijeratne and runner-up was W. A. K. Fernando and Group C –Handicap 19 to 28 winner was Eoin O. Mahony and runner-up was Viran Perera. In the Masters Division the winner was Nihal Boralessa and runner-up was T. A. Weerasinghe while Ranjith Thabrew and Derik Wijeratne were the winner and the runner-up in the Seniors Division. The First Day Best Nett Score winner was Ishira Fernando and the Second Day Best Nett Score winner was Prashan Peiris. The HNB Customer Best Aggregate Nett Score winner was Ishira Fernando and runner-up was Priyanga Hapugalle. The inaugural Millennium Trophy Golf Tournament was launched in 2001 to commemorate the first refurbishment and development program carried out at the Royal Colombo Golf Club after over a century in existence, and has been one of the most anticipated golf tournaments since its inception. The tournament was concluded with a gala function in which the HNB Managing Director/CEO Jonathan Alles participated as Chief Guest. HNB was recognised as the Bank of the Year in Sri Lanka for the years 2012 and 2013 by the Banker Magazine UK and was named the Best Retail Bank in Sri Lanka by the Banker Magazine UK and was named the Best Retail Bank in Sri Lanka by the Asian Banker Magazine for six consecutive years for its performance from 2007 to 2012.