Hellibees Racing creates all-new Formula 4 team

Tuesday, 13 October 2015 00:14 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Hellibees Racing, which made a successful entry into Formula racing at the last Katukurunda Circuit meet, have further strengthened their involvement in the sport by creating a three member Formula team. 

Comprising well-known Formula drivers in Sri Lanka, the Hellibees Racing team has brought on board the 2012 Formula 4 Championship winner Chandima Gooneratne, wet weather specialist Andrew Choksy and promising youngster Liam Lawrence, who recently competed and won in Malaysia. Come meet the new formula team at Katukurunda Circuit Meet Round 3 on 18 October.

The Formula 4 event is a very competitive class comprising the best open-wheel competitors in the island. Tarmac circuit meets are a highlight of the national championship with a record number of entries and participants. Hellibees Racing will aims to be the strongest contender at all tarmac meets with its championship winning bikes and now its Formula McLarens Team.

DFT-23-7Hellibees Racing drivers Chandima Gooneratne (L) and Andrew Choksy (R) who placed 1st and 3rd at the Katukurunda Circuit meet 2015. In the background Hellibees Racing Founder Murad Ismail

Commenting on Hellibees Racing, the team’s Founder Murad Ismail said: “What we have brought to the table, which has been sorely lacking, is our winning formula of performance, strong technical skills and a sense of professionalism. We also strongly believe in DFT-23-6maintaining the spirit of sportsmanship and being gentlemen and role models in this sport. The Hellibees Racing team is backed by a number of highly respected personalities and brands, known for supporting racing in Sri Lanka for many years. This bringing together of an old school code of conduct, and youthful passion and engineering, is undoubtedly the secret to our success, and you’ll be seeing a lot more of us in the months and years to come.”

The Hellibees Formula Team will see action at the next tarmac circuit meet, where all three cars will be dressed in their new livery, and ready to bring home the gold in the fan favourite Formula McLarens 1300 EFi category.