Dinesh, Praveen and Tharindu shine in Pannala

Wednesday, 4 April 2012 00:05 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Dinesh Jayawardana with vast experience in Formula driving came up with a superb performance to win the Formula 1600cc Post 85 Class at the AMRC Formula Championship Round Two which was held on Sunday at the Pannala Circuit.

Dinesh who clocked the best time was at the pole position from which he gained the maximum to get off to a flying start.  Despite a good lead, he had veterans in this class Rohan de Silva and Ashan Silva give chase throughout the race. Ashan made a few attempts go past Rohan but failed in his efforts.

An unexpected turn of events occurred when the vehicle run by Rohan de Silva who was holding on to the second position, developed technical problems whilst into the fifth lap. Putting on a determined effort to be in the race, Rohan failed, leaving Ashan to reach the podium as runner-up to Dinesh. Shafraz Junaid who has been in the racing field for a few years grabbed the third position in this race.

The other drivers who stole the limelight were Tharindu Gamage and Praveen Madugalle, winning two races each in the McLarens Alto K10 class and McLarens Formula 1300cc class.

Tharindu who made his way into racing through GoKarting and ProKarting at Speed Drome at Battaramulla, making a debut in the Speed Championship 2010, came up with a brilliant performance on this day. He went on to win race one and two comfortably to take a firm lead in  grabbing the 2012 Championship.

Not far behind in both events was Zakir Wahab, ending up as the runner-up. Clement Senaratne and Rumesh Rajakulendran had to content with second runner-up positions respectively.

The Winner of last year’s McLarens Formula 1300cc was seen in action driving the new addition to the Meet, a McLarens Alto K10, showing his prowess as a driver to be watched in the future.  Young Praveen too commenced his racing career through Speed Drome and is following in his father’s footsteps. 

On Sunday he was in fine mettle and went on to win the two races in the one make McLarens Alto K10. Praveen was hotly challenged in both races by Thiwanka Wijesekera but could not get an opportunity to go past the leader. With these two victories, Praveen heads the points table in this class.