D.S. Senanayake College clinch ZOBRA Rugby Trophy 2013

Friday, 11 October 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Text and pix by M. Farook Lantra D.S. Senanayake College carried away the ZOBRA 10-a-side Rugby Trophy 2013 in grand style beating the fancied Science College Mt. Lavinia by 7 points (1 goal) to nil which was witnessed in front of a capacity crowd staged at the Zahira College grounds last week. The Zahira Old Boys Rugby Association (ZOBRA) organised for the second successive year by hoisting the national and college flags by Zahira Sports Council Chairman Tony Amith and ZOBRA President Nazeem Ghaffoor at 8:30 a.m. respectively. The only try for D.S.S was planted by Lalanka Wijesooriya who ran pass several defenders. Under 12 Carnival rugby with more than 180 participants from 12 schools was concurrently worked off along under-14 10-a-side tournament, more than 195 participants from 13 schools took part in this mini rugby grand finale. It was amazing to see parents of all participating schools come in numbers to see their kids’ skills, in this carnival atmosphere. Excellent discipline was observed by students and parents right throughout the tournament, and more respect was shown to the referees of the Rugby Referee Society, who officiated at the matches. The mini carnival was sponsored by Q.P. Employment and former Zahira Rugby Committee Chairman Fowzan Anver who was the chief guest at the event. Zahira Board of Governors Secretary Rizvi Niyas, Zahira Rugby Committee Chairman Riza Abdeen, Zahira College Principal Trizviy Marikkar, Former Rugby Chairman Ifthikar Ahmed and former rugby star Salman Faris graced the occasion. The plate was won by C.W.W. Kannangara College who beat Nalanda College 14 points to 7, while the bowl trophy was won by St. Benedicts College who beat Mahanama College 35 to 7 points. The final was handled by referee P. Gunaratne.