CEAT Sri Lanka Super Series revs up for 4th leg

Saturday, 6 September 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Sri Lanka Super Series, which is jointly organised by the Carlton Motor Sports Club, the Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) and the Asian Motor Racing Club (AMRC), will hold its 4th round on 14 Sep at the famous Katukurunda circuit. The Sri Lanka Super Series was inaugurated earlier this year with a long-term goal of sending champion local drivers to an Asian round of the International Motor Racing Series. The Series prides itself as being the only championship in the country that is focused on taking Sri Lankan talent to the international arena. The previous three rounds have shaped the Championship in many categories that are dished out to bring the young talent out. The top category of SL GT Cars up to 3500cc is led by famous champion driver Ashan Silva followed by Dinesh Jayawardana and Kushan Pieris. The most outstanding events in the championship have been the Formula events. The McLarens Formula (carburetor) 1300 is led by Lasitha Naotunna while the McLarens Formula (EFI) 1300 is led by Bryan Perera. The motorcycle events too draw great spectator enthusiasm in the motocross and circuit races. Many events are conducted to crown the champions in the two disciplines namely Motocross and Tarmac Circuit brackets. In the motocross category, top riders such as Gayan Sandaruwan lead the Championship while Maduranga Caldera lead the Tarmac category. In the Tarmac Circuit category, top runners Suraj Perera and Kasun Danushka Sudasinghe are leading the Super Motard 450cc Championship and Nadun Pradeep Wijesekera is leading with Maduranga Caldera in hot pursuit in the Modified Motorcycles over 900cc up to 1000cc championship. Round 4 of the championship will be a memorable moment for all spectators, enthusiasts and competitors alike when a superbly organised motor race is flagged off at 9.00am. Easy access to the track allows any fan to drive in at any time and leave without any hindrance to anyone. Grandstand and standing tickets will be available at the gates. The CEAT Sri Lanka Super Series is sponsored by CEAT, Stafford Motors, Coca Cola Ltd, Red Bull, Auto Miraj, Mobil and Macbertan.