Aravind enters Pin Fernando Trophy 2015 Final

Friday, 17 July 2015 00:18 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Aravind Fernando played excellent golf and showed his nerve and talent when he outsmarted Ishira Fernando, a rising young star 2 and 1, to enter the Final of the 2015 Pin Fernando Trophy to meet another young golfer maturing on the course very rapidly, Ravindra Wijegunaratne.

Aravind was all square with Ishira at the turn and the ding-dong battle continued until Aravind took a slender lead at the crucial moment only to seal the match on the 17th. In the other Semi Final Ravindra played some excellent golf making as many as four birdies from the 2nd hole to the 13th where he was 4 up on Chandana, having being 2 up after 9 holes. Chandana fought back to win the 14th and 15th to reduce the lead to 2 down but Ravindra halved the 16th and 17th to clinch the semi-final tie 2 & 1.

The Final between the top seeded Aravind and second seeded Ravindra promises to be a thriller especially endorsing the fact that both youngsters were the top 2 qualifiers and golfers definitely on the upgrade.

In the Pam Fernando Trophy 2015, the top qualifier and confident Sharon Hall was edged out by the evergreen veteran Swen Selvaratnam, a renowned match-player 1 up to reach the Final and meet Roshini Sangani who recorded a comfortable win over Fran De Mel 4 & 3.

Both Finals get underway this afternoon (17 July, Friday) and will be followed by the awards ceremony for the Pin & Pam Fernando Trophies 2015, sponsored by UTE-Cat, sole authorised dealers for Cat Generators in Sri Lanka.

  • Pin Fernando Trophy 2015 Semi Final Results

Aravind Fernando beat Ishira Fernando 2 & 1

Ravindra S. Wijegunaratne beat Chandana Weerasinghe 2 & 1

  • Pam Fernando Trophy 2015 Semi Final Results

Swen Selvaratnam beat Sharon Hall 1 Up

Roshini Sangani beat Fran De Mel 4 & 3