Ananda crush Isipathana with 151 run win to clinch school’s Under 17 Division 1 title

Tuesday, 1 September 2015 00:05 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

By P.D. De Silva 

Ananda College Colombo ended Isipathana College’s 14 match winning streak with a mammoth 151 run win to be crowned the all island schools Under 17 division 1 cricket champs at the R Premadasa International Cricket stadium.

Shammu Ashan leading the Ananda team won the toss and elected to bat first. Ananda posted a formidable 269/7 in their 50 overs. Sahan Suraweera scored 88 runs off 91 balls with half a dozen boundaries and five sixes and shared a 148 run second wicket partnership with Dushan Hettige 58 off 92 balls with seven boundaries.


Skipper Shammu Ashan chipped in with a quick fire 66 off 59 balls which included six fours and two sixes and together with his deputy Asel Sigera shared a 61 run partnership for the fourth wicket. Neranja Waniarachchi captured three wickets for Isipathana.

The Isipathana batsmen were bamboozled by the left arm leg spin of Asel Sigera 3/14 and Achila Eranga 2/08 and right arm off spin of Supun Waragoda 2/07 to be bundled out for 118 runs with only Harsha Rathnayaka and Kalana Perera crossing the 20 run mark.

Ananda 269/7 in 50 overs

Sahan Suraweera 88, Shammu Ashan 66, Dushan Hettige 58, Supun Waragoda 21 not out

Neranja Wanniarachchi 3/57

Isipathana 118 in 40.5 overs

Harsha Rathnayaka 25, Kalana Perera 22

Asel Sigera 3/14, Supun Waragoda 2/07, Achila Eranga 2/08